hrm….maybe this explains a few things…

7 Mar

Signs and Symptoms

People who are allergic to eggs may feel sick just a few minutes after consuming egg proteins or up to a couple of hours later. Most reactions last less than a day and may affect any of three body systems:

  • the skin – in the form of red, itchy, bumpy rashes (hives) or eczema
  • the gastrointestinal tract – in the form of stomach cramps, diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting
  • the respiratory tract – symptoms can range from a runny nose and sneezing to the triggering of asthma with coughing and wheezing

I haven’t been able to eat eggs in years without suffering. I can eat one and “maybe” not get a case of the “OMFG I’m going to crap my pants!”. Unless I’m pregnant. When pregnant, I can eat them until I turn into chickens.

I get hives-I actually get urticaria, with a dash of dermographism (which is fun). this started getting worse over a year ago. It never seems to be caused by the eggs-it just happens all the time….

and the wheezing….I’ll have to see if it gets worse with eggs or stuff with eggs in it. Perhaps I’ll stop eating egg products and see what happens…

Just a thought I had today….

7 Responses to “hrm….maybe this explains a few things…”

  1. radical mama March 7, 2008 at 4:48 pm #

    Paging Dr. Google.

    Hope you have some good results, since your doctor isn’t helping much… 😉

  2. thordora March 7, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    no shit. Even when I went to the walk in about the uticaria, they just shrugged and said “it happens, don’t know why” and left…..

  3. Kathy March 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    It can’t hurt to try giving up eggs and egg products. Good luck.

  4. Jennifer March 7, 2008 at 8:15 pm #

    Ooooo, you could be onto something. I get that raised red reaction when I play with various plants. Tomato plants for one. I can eat tomatoes, but the plants try to kill me. Oh, grass doesn’t like me much either.

  5. thordora March 7, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    ugh…tomatoes do that to me as well…it’s ick. Too much sauce on skin will cause problems-girls are prone to that as well.

    I get sneezy from grass…

  6. Gabriel... March 7, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    Hey… HELP. What ISP are you using because WP says Bell is fucking with my life… please go here and read this: http://saltedlithium.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/504

    In the Forums they’re basically saying it’s up to Bell users to convince Bell to change something… which is basically saying I’m on my own and maybe I’m totally screwed.

  7. marcelarhodus March 8, 2008 at 2:46 am #

    how did you get to this notion?
    you might have just found the answer, will you be going on an elimination diet?
    wouldn’t it be great if the answer was as simple as not having eggs?
    I hope it’s so.

Leave a Reply

