Smart Mouth

26 Feb

Vivian received a stern talking to last night.

See, she’s 4.5 years old. She’s a kid. She’s sweet and smart and funny and all that, but she’s also developing a smart mouth that makes me say, much to my chagrin “Would you like me to slap that grin off your face?”

I never thought I’d be saying those words like my mother used to. Or at least, I thought I wouldn’t be saying them until she was at least 12.

She’s been mouthy and obstinate and plain old RUDE lately, and I’d had enough.

We had a little talk about acting like a big girl, and not mouthing off to people. I asked her if she knew what I meant. She nodded. She knew. We talked about helping around the house, and how I expected her to pick up after herself, clean up her dishes. We spoke of being nicer to her sister, helping her out, understanding that she’s littler.

I impressed upon her the fact that she’s old enough to have responsibility on her little head.

When I was done that little speech, I added one about how all the little trinkets and toys I like to bring home for her and Rosalyn was going to end. She had to earn those gifts back. Acting like a petulant brat was not something I was going to endorse.

Then I dangled a carrot. A large, fat Planet Heroes carrot. Vivian likes these. I like them. But she’s been told that she will not get one again if she doesn’t start acting in a more polite manner to everyone.

So far, she’s been better. But it hasn’t been that long.

She’s not even that bad. But I want it to stay that way. I don’t want her to get to school and find herself limited by the fact that she’s a bit mouthy. I don’t want people to look at her the way I look at children who seem to have no control. I want her to learn that some things just aren’t appropriate.

I want a child who is kind. Well mannered. I still want her to speak up where necessary, but she needs to learn how.

And besides. Rudeness drives me absolutely batshit, and I will NOT tolerate that in my kid.

7 Responses to “Smart Mouth”

  1. Mogo February 26, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    well, she called me an idiot today. I told her to go to her room and she went and hid in your dad’s room instead.

  2. Mogo February 26, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    truth is though, I think she’s way worse with us than she will be with anyone else – you know, the whole we’ll-love-her-no-matter-what thing…

  3. thordora February 26, 2008 at 5:56 pm #

    dangle the toy carrot when you send her to her room. Pick her up and take her there.

    She’ll never see another toy again if she keeps this shit up.

    and…shouldn’t you be working?

  4. Lgirl February 26, 2008 at 8:58 pm #

    4.5yo? Wow how are you feeling about her starting school?

  5. thordora February 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    nervous…very very nervous….

  6. Hannah February 26, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    It’s weird when you open your mouth and your parents’ voices come flying out, isn’t it? Today I actually said “stop crying over nothing or I’ll give you something to cry about”. Ack. Which is both illogical and a totally empty threat.

    Sounds to me like she’s testing you. Hats off to you for bringing the hammer down early and often. Might as well get this under control now.

  7. Marcy February 27, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    I hate getting mad at 15-mo Amy when she’s upset, especially when she cries all out of proportion (from my perspective) about something, or when she whines persistently. I want her to know it’s okay to have and express feelings, but I want her also to develop some knowledge and practice of when and how. She’s still so little… so smart, so knowing, so aware, but still.

    I hope your efforts w/ Vivian work out well.

Leave a Reply

