“Fork: An instrument used chiefly for the purpose of putting dead animals into the mouth.”

26 Feb

All of a sudden, I have almost no desire for meat.

Strange.

When I was 14 or so, I stopped eating all meat. Granted, I never ate seafood or fish (blech blech blech) and I rarely ate red meat or pork, but still, I vocally said “No more”

When I was 16 and really, REALLY drunk at a hippy bush party, I had the most delicious hamburger I’ve ever had. I remember screaming at the guy I was with “DUDE! This is SOOOOO good! THANK YOU for buying me this AWESOME hamburger! It’s so wrong, but SOOOO good!”

I was a little inebriated on a few things to be honest. A few weeks later I had a drunken/stoned encounter with a box of chicken balls. I snuck them into my mouth, one by one, face lit by the fridge light at about 2am.

I didn’t eat any flesh for a few years after that.

I don’t really remember how I started eating meat again, or rather, chicken with the odd bit of pork here and there. But it started slowly, a dish here and there. Until it became part of our life. Mogo was also vegetarian at one point, but has rather fervently embraced meat again. It just became SOP.

But suddenly, in the last month or so, my desire for meat has dropped to nil. (Frankly, I think it’s all Kate’s fault) Hell, I even bought Tofu in a last ditch attempt to see if I can make it not taste as badly as I have in the past. (Still in fridge-haven’t tried yet)

I just don’t quite understand where this is coming from. I’ve always been kinda squeamish with meat-nothing off the bone if I can help it, no weird cuts, little to no dark meat, ham, not actual pork chops or anything. And I can’t think about it too much while chewing or the whole “flesh” thing becomes far too real.

But to suddenly be totally turned off by most meat-it’s really odd for me. Then again, the nasty ass turkey drumsticks Dad made the one night might have something to do with it….

9 Responses to ““Fork: An instrument used chiefly for the purpose of putting dead animals into the mouth.””

  1. Hannah February 26, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    I stopped eating meat when I was 14 because I started feeling really, really weird about ingesting stuff that used to have a face. This lasted until I was, let’s see, 21 or so – got stoned out of my mind and handsome hubby (just cute boyfriend in those days) fed me that Halifax delicacy, donair. And just like your hamburger, it tasted SO DAMN GOOD.

    I still can’t think about what meat was, when it was alive. And I’m a total hypocrite, I’ll admit it. Like, I’ll eat lamb korma but I think eating bunny rabbits is cruel.

    I’ll be interested to see if cutting back on meat helps your breathing problems, though.

  2. Judy February 26, 2008 at 12:52 pm #

    We eat very little meat. Watching the videos of the processing plant and the meat recall (I know you’re in Canada, but have you SEEN the video? ICK) has made me want even less. The only meat we ever really prepare at home is canned tuna, otherwise maybe once a month. We eat meat (not beef) when we eat out, or are traveling (because it’s hard to eat vegetarian on a road trip through Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas or Missouri), but that’s pretty infrequent too.

    I don’t know what would bring it on suddenly. My whole life I’ve had moments where certain foods would gross me out – I rarely drink cow’s milk because thinking about it is ICK, although I LOVE cheese.

    Whatever the reason, cutting back on meat can’t hurt.

  3. thordora February 26, 2008 at 1:04 pm #

    Don’t even get me started on milk. I call it cow pee.

  4. Gwen February 26, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    Please don’t hate me if I pick up the meat slack on your behalf ….

  5. mamaloo February 26, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    Come on over to the green and leafy side!

    http://vegetarianmoms.wordpress.com

  6. sweetsalty kate February 26, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    Yep – that’s where it started for me (meat = gross). Shoot me an email if you want to know about which tofu I’ve found to be the best (for me, previous hater, honest-to-god) and which podcast is now both school and gospel. I was going to put that stuff here but then I felt really cultish like “Is meat suddenly grossing you out? Take our FREE PERSONALITY TEST!”

    It’s weird, actually – I have a huge resistance in me to being vegan (waaaay too much pain-in-the-ass to live with) but having now gone vegetarian, eating cheese and eggs and cow pee feels gross too, and wrong, and unhealthy, now that I’m aware. So we drink soymilk and use vegan spread instead of butter… baby steps. Maybe it’s time to define a new term… veganish?

    Good luck thor, whatever path you take. I’m here if you ever want to chat about it… I’m still learning too.

  7. Marcy February 27, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Sorry, folks, I am totally on the meat side. I love some good veggies, too, and don’t overdose on the animal stuff, but to me it makes so much sense that we’re designed to eat some animal products as well as plants. The fact that animals have faces doesn’t bother me — I’m not convinced that plants are unfeeling, either. I’m not against veal because calves are cute, but because they are raised inhumanely. I would love to afford to get meat and other stuff from animals that have been raised as naturally as possible. I like the classic Native American approach of honoring the animals they kill for meat and other products.

    That said, if I come across a vein in a piece of meat, I have to pick it out.

  8. radical mama February 27, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    I love milk. I could drink it all day long. And our milk comes straight from the cow, unfiltered cream and all. Yum…

    But the meat thing? I hear you. Our year as vegetarians is over since I am the only one who totally loved it. I chopped up more than 50 pounds of meat yesterday for freezer dinners. Gross gross gross. I think I went through a whole bottle of sanitizer because I was constantly cleaning the counters, the stove, the cupboards…

    Couldn’t do vegan though. I love cheese. I love milk and ice cream and real cream. Not a huge fan of eggs but I love a good vegetable frittata or quiche.

  9. thordora February 27, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    I love eggs. They jusst don’t love me back.

    Cutting chicken wings is my ultimate ICK.

Leave a Reply

