Yoga with Toddler

20 Feb

I’m laying on the floor after doing a section of a new Yoga DVD, wondering why they always seem so tainted by that icky hippy dippy vibe, and trying to relax and “enjoy the quiet and peace.”

On my hard floor, with small cars and action figures poking me. I try, and most succeed. I’m feeling very rested,  yet exhilarated.

The patter of little feet comes across the room. Shaking jingle bells. Loudly.

“MUMMY!!!!!! MUMMY! ARE YOUDONEYET!?!? MUMMY! Get UP! Stand UP MUMMY!!!!”

Note to self. Do Yoga AFTER kids are in bed.

11 Responses to “Yoga with Toddler”

  1. Lgirl February 20, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    I find that Yoga ends with a toddler jumping on my guts! Not so much peace and serenity.

  2. Carin February 20, 2008 at 9:30 am #

    I can’t imagine Yoga without the hippy dippy vybe. And wow. That’ll totally ruin your peace.

    What about a yoga mat? or an anything mat? Cars poking you doesn’t sound pleasant at all.

  3. Gwen February 20, 2008 at 9:38 am #

    I’ve given up on the peaceful end. Or beginning. Or middle. My kid likes to run underneath me when I’m in any pose that provides her the space to do so. Not so good for the hippy dippy vibe, eh?

  4. Caitlin February 20, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    I finally just joined a gym. Between Paul, my dog, and the cat, exercise at home is just an emergency room trip waiting to happen. I used to do a walking video, and all three seem to take that as “Oh, Mama wants to play a game! Attack her feet!!”.

    I actually get peace and quiet at the gym, since they have “kid’s gym” :).

  5. radical mama February 20, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    Or before they get up. But… Yeah, right.

  6. Cori February 20, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    After they go to bed. I heart my time on the elliptical after they go to bed. I put on my iPod and zone out for an hour. Bliss!!!!

  7. Hannah February 20, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    Gave up trying to yoga at home – if it’s not the toddler trying to “help” me it’s my husband asking what pose I’m doing now, and should he do yoga, and how did I get so flexible, and on and on. Gah. I go to a prenatal class once a week. It is quiet and lovely. And probably an equivalent workout to Toddler Yoga (TM) every night.

  8. mercurial scribe February 20, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    “Ommmmmm…” …Iwillnotkillmykid…. “Ommmmm… sweetheart, Mommy’s busy!…” …willnotgiveherabrainduster… “OMMMMMM…”

    LOL. I feel you!

  9. anna February 20, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    Almost as bad as yoga with a canine.

  10. Eden February 22, 2008 at 12:52 am #

    Oooh yoga.

  11. thordora February 22, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    I know. I’m so fucking cool aren’t I. Next, I’m gonna start taking obscure pictures of roadmaps, and act like I’m 15 and listening to too much Type-O….

    not that I was like that at 15 or anything……

Leave a Reply

