“can pregnant woman eat pizza hut wings”

17 Feb

HELLS yes. I lived on Pizza Hut my second pregnancy (as my ass and 50 lb weight gain can attest)

You can eat what you want, with the exception of the usual suspects-beer a 40 of vodka, crack cocaine, sushi  fish from Lake Erie, six pack of Jolt.

More than likely, everyone and their Mother has been telling you “You can’t eat that!!!” in the same tones that one would warn small children from open flame. Ignore them. Frankly, anyone who dares tell a pregnant woman what they can or cannot eat deserves to be kicked, repeatedly in the vicinity of where a baby might come out. Welcome to motherhood-a land where everyone else knows better than you.

Don’t overdo the eating of crap (trust me-50lbs….but I quit smoking, so I figure it works out) but don’t listen to people with their stupid unfounded prejudices about food either. OR, levy some advice of your own-something like “Hey, that purse makes your ass look big” or “that chest hair makes you look like a wookie.”

And then, go have a big honkin’ pile of wings. And hot sauce.

14 Responses to ““can pregnant woman eat pizza hut wings””

  1. radical mama February 17, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    I eat sushi. And the occasional beer. 🙂 Bah.

  2. Eden February 18, 2008 at 2:22 am #

    If you’re craving something, your body needs it. Hankering for mac & cheese? Maybe you need more fat or calcium. Listen to your body.

    Let go and enjoy the cravings. And if you get heartburn, chomp down a couple of Tums.

  3. marcelarhodus February 18, 2008 at 3:38 am #

    I lived on sushi while pregnant with Mackenzie… the thing is for every warning there is in the States about not eating sushi, there is a strong recommendation from the Japanese health department for pregnant women diet to consist basically on sushi, tofu and vegetables/fruit.

    so while I did heed the recommendation while pregnat with Morgan in Ca, I ate sushi with a vengeance while pregant with Mackenzie in Yokohama…

    and I never gave up coffee… love it too much.

  4. thordora February 18, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    I hate fish, so avoiding sushi makes sense to me. 🙂

    In NA, they don’t let the preggers eat ANYTHING-it’s insane. I craved beer like MADNESS when pregnant with Vivian. Mogo was like “just have a little then” but I couldn’t shake the image of FAS out of my head. Not that half a beer will cause that, as evidenced by the bender I went on when pregnant with Rosalyn, before I realized I was pregnant with Rosalyn.

  5. Marcy February 18, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    I was all ridiculous about eating when pregnant, partly because I wasn’t taking prenatals and wanted to be sure I provided good nutrition to the little one. Even though I knew the lysteria or whatever it is was a ridiculous, one-woman-in-the-70s thing, I carefully avoided soft cheese and deli meats…

    But when I craved potato chips and Chinese, I just went for it…

  6. radical mama February 18, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    The worst time to drink when pregnant is your first trimester, when the fetus’ brain is developing and the liver is not functioning. That’s also the time when women are most likely to drink since half of pregnancies are unplanned. And yet, FAS is not endemic. I just wonder what ridiculous amounts of alcohol must need to be consumed and for how long, you know?

    After I had El, my midwife told me I could drink alcohol when bfing, but if I started to feel tipsy, the alcohol was entering my bloodstream, and therefore my breastmilk. The baby does have a liver, so a tiny bit of alcohol once and a while isn’t a tragedy. Her advice was to not drink until just after I had nursed, so I had a good hour for the alcohol to leave my blood and milk. (Can I just say how nice it was to have a rational nurse for once, instead of one who does nothing but feed you guilt about how you are doing everything wrong and you are absolutely guaranteed to fuck up your kid if you don’t do everything perfectly?) I figure the same thing happens when pregnant. If I just have one (or more likely 1/2 since we drink strong beer), it’s not anything to worry about.

    I don’t take a strong position on this because I am so damned and determined to enjoy the occasional glass of wine. But the atmosphere regarding fetus rights in this country is borderline hysteria. I don’t care to be reduced to an incubator and I am just waiting for abortion to be illegalized, mandatory folic acid ingestion, and banning of sales of alcohol or cigarettes to all women of childbearing age. Seriously. And not that I have taken this completely off topic…

  7. Kelly O February 18, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    I think that’s the thing I hate most about parenthood: other parents’ judgment.

  8. Judy February 18, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    Wings? WTF?

    Is it the spiciness? I heard all the time, when I was pg with all 3 of mine, that I shouldn’t eat hot foods – no jalapenos. What? How would that hurt the baby? I mean, I’m down here now on the Mexican border, I LOVES me some Mexican food, and they make LOTS of healthy babies.

    Insanity.

    And with my sons, I had the occasional half glass of wine (I hate beer), with my midwives’ blessing. So many pg women pop *other* thing – tylenol, other meds – like it’s nothing, but a small glass of wine and OMIGODYOURKILLINGYOURBABYITWILLBESTUPIDWHATAREYOUDOINGYOUSELFISHBITCH?!?!?!?!?!?! Come on.

    Wings?

  9. thordora February 18, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    I know….I was a little SRSLY?!?!?! about it too…..

  10. Nat February 18, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Remember when I was pregnant and a girl at work was all judgemental because I took baths and went swimming when I was pregnant? I’ll never forget it. I was like “um… it’s WATER” lol

  11. thordora February 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    She also told someone else that curling was dangerous in the first trimester.

    Curling. Sheesh.

  12. bromac February 19, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    Aaaaah, 70lbs I gained! To my credit, pre-preggo = 5.3 and 110….mybody needed it.

    We are trying for #2 and I am daydreaming about the bi-weekly buffet trips…….taco’s, green beans, meat loaf, yeast roll, taters. I just craved good southern cooking the whole time……and taco’s. I love taco’s, one of my all-time favorite foods, but the # of times I had mexican while pregnant was ridiculous—-boy she loved it though, kickety-doo-dah.

  13. Christena Clowerd February 18, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    These are some informative comments. You brought up some valid points that I had not thought of before. I will subscribe and see if you post any updates.

  14. first trimester February 29, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Wonderful work! That is the type of information that should be shared across the internet. Disgrace on the seek engines for not positioning this put up upper! Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

