Well wouldja look at that

11 Feb

a Grammy’s that included music. Imagine….this is the first time in…well, ever that we’ve watched it out of interest.

Amy Winehouse winning Record of the Year was bothersome. Not sure when we started rewarding blatant illegal habits and hit or miss talent, but it’s good to see the trend continues unabated.

12 Responses to “Well wouldja look at that”

  1. mamaloo February 11, 2008 at 1:44 am #

    Sean wanted to watch the whole thing but I can’t stand the majority of music that was on. I wanted to see Feist (and Sean wanted to see who was in her band) but I couldn’t bear sitting through the rest of the crap.

    I did see Amy Winehouse win single of the year for Rehab! I thought that was pretty ironic. Poor girl isn’t allowed in the US so they do the satellite video hookup except something screwed up, likely on the UK end, and no footage of the whacko accepting an award for a song called Rehab the week after she got out of rehab!

    Right after that I tried to convince Sean to watch the classic Pride & Prejudice on Masterpiece and settled for a little Jon & Kate Plus 8 and Battlestar Galactica.

    Did anyone interesting win anything?

  2. Gabriel... February 11, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    Amy was allowed to be at the ceremony but her visa came too late… ever since the tribute to Joe Strummer (Bruce Springsteen, Little Steven, Elvis Costello and Dave Grohl doing London Calling) the show has gotten better. They’re basically copycatting the Juno’s which copycatted the Brit Awards. Amy winning five awards was cool, Herbie Hancock winning best album was cooler, Barack Obama winning for Spoken Word was coolest:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjXyqcx-mYY

  3. Kathy February 11, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    I haven’t watched the Grammys in almost two decades, but Amy cleaned up, didn’t she. (Cleaned up meaning picked up several awards.) It bothers me, too, not only being rewarded for her drug abuse (though if I got rid of every cd I own just because the artist has a drug problem, well, I’d be left with… not much), but because she exploited herself by being the “talented, but oh so troubled” hot thing when it’s really, really trendy.

  4. thordora February 11, 2008 at 7:47 am #

    Herbie Hancock doing Rhaspody in Blue was awesome. My favorite part.

    Yeah, I can’t get rid off all the “drug” music-but it’s one of those things that I don’t want to see glamorized to sell records. It’s repulsive.

  5. Julie Pippert February 11, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    I really thought the parts I saw were dreadful. I ended up falling asleep which might have as much to do with me as the show LOL. I was perplexed by the Amy Winehouse thing. I mean, I like some of her stuff but it’s more like kitschy rather than awesome. And so much playing up her appearance! GAH! Really a disappointing show I thought, because last year’s awesomeness was still so fresh in my mind!

  6. Heather (the muse has left..) February 11, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    I didn’t even remember it was on, I was playing Kingdom Hearts on the PS2….

  7. Hannah February 11, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    I didn’t watch, I’m just not that interested. The following day I kept hearing headlines on some variation of “Amy Winehouse cleans up at the Grammys” and I honestly thought they meant she’d, you know, brushed that ridiculous hair, worn some unstained clothes, and tried to be presentable. Imagine my shock when it turned out she’d won a pile of awards. Weird. I just don’t get the fuss about her, I really don’t.

  8. daisybones February 11, 2008 at 2:11 pm #

    I like Amy, but I loves me some druggie musics, I do. I hate that it’ such a struggle for her, but I thought her shock was cute. I didn’t watch the show, just caught the soundbite… I’m so fucking out of touch with music. I had to ask my friend who Feist was recently. She told me she was the cool voice from the Apple commercials, and I was like, “Oh. Cool voice.”

    I am the queen of lame:)

  9. thordora February 11, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    secret? I HATE feist with the power of seven suns. I cannot STAND cockiness…..in any artist. I could like her music, but her persona ruins it for me.

  10. mamaloo February 11, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    I actually like her, but we’ve met before a long time ago and I always liked her work. Sean used to work with her old band.

  11. Candy February 12, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    Totally agreeing with you on the Winehouse thing. I don’t understand that one at all. And that song sucks.

  12. Eden February 12, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    Her album is amazing.

    But the Grammys have never been about excellence. They’ve always been rewards for selling records. And Amy sells records. Hopefully she’ll be able to use these acknowledgments to pull herself out of her substance abuse problems. I think it’s important to look past people’s problems to the core of who they are and celebrate that. For Amy, part of it is her incredible songwriting and vocal talent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

