Sicko

11 Feb

I’ve wanted to have something witty to say all day, I really have. But I’m still feeling like hell. I started the day thinking I felt fine, but rapidly went down hill. I can mostly breathe, but I feel like a truck hit me. Being stupid busy all day didn’t help, a theme that will likely keep up all week.

I wish I had some ginger ale. My stomach has no decided to get in on the action and feel crappy-normally, I’d drink ginger ale as a nostalgic cure. But it’s still snowing, and still blowy outside and I’m broke anyway.

Any of you have tried and true feel better cures? Not the ones necessarily meant to fix what ails you physically, but the ones maybe your mother used?

17 Responses to “Sicko”

  1. Kathy February 11, 2008 at 6:13 pm #

    When I have the flu or something I like plain brown rice with tamari. Kind of bland and salty.

  2. Caitlin February 11, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    Vanilla milkshakes or blizzards (soft serve with mix ins). It doesn’t hurt to eat when your throat is really sore and if you vomit, it smells the same as it did when you ate it. My grandma would make chicken and dumplings, but give me just the dumplings when I was sick.

  3. Marcy February 11, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    Toast, tea, bananas… you can also get the benefit of the ginger ale by putting ginger in something else. Do you have any herbal / fancy teas that include ginger? Add some ginger to that brown rice? I also like a shot of ginger in chicken soup…

  4. landismom February 11, 2008 at 11:01 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon. I’m a fan of chicken soup with stars, personally. Not so good for the vomiting days, though.

  5. jenny February 11, 2008 at 11:20 pm #

    Popsicles go down easy and taste good. My favorite sick comfort foods are mashed potatoes and cream of tomato soup (not at the same time). I hope you get better soon .

  6. Jennifer February 11, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    consome soup and gingerale, the canada dry stuff though, it still has ginger in it.

  7. Jennifer February 11, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    Oh, we’re all sick here too. My sympathies.

  8. marcelarhodus February 12, 2008 at 12:28 am #

    I’m sorry you’re feeling so ill still… sending good vibes your way so you feel all better soon.
    my mother used to “cure” all with chamomile tea… no matter what, I always give it a try.

  9. Nat February 12, 2008 at 1:20 am #

    Popsicles, ginger beer (the stuff with real ginger in it), ice cream (of course), your favorite bowl of hot soup (for me it was always Campbell’s cream of ‘shroom).

    Usually I pour a little eucalyptus oil in the bathtub too. VERY soothing.

    Hope you feel better soon, girl… Sending you happy thoughts!

  10. Suburban Mum February 12, 2008 at 5:03 am #

    We’re all sick too so I sympathise. Chicken noodle soup always does it for me. Ginger beer sounds a good idea, might have to go buy some.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  11. bine February 12, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    mom’s cure-all for stomach ailments was potato soup (the smooth, blended kind) or finely grated apple. and the hard, salted pretzels. for common colds, chicken soup and vick’s chest rub. a hot bath with some rosemary or pine needle essence might be good, or pouring boiling water over a handful of chamomile in a bowl, then inhaling the vapors. so far our family remedies. i have added fresh ginger tea to my favorites. good for the stomach as well as for the chest.

  12. Hannah February 12, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    When I was sick, it was grilled cheese sandwiches and Campbell’s tomato soup, made with milk of course. To this day, when I’m not quite sick enough to go to bed and sleep it off but sick enough that I spent the day in a non-productive haze, this is what I crave.

    This winter I bought Isaac a humidifier, and you can get Vicks vapo-rub tablets to put right in the machine – turns the whole room into a misty methol womb. I find it really helpful with the dry cough I’ve had since December (since I can’t take any medicine for it).

    I hope you’re feeling better soon, my friend.

  13. ann adams February 12, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    My mom used to make “milk toast” which is buttered toast broken up into warm milk.

    When I have a cold without the upset tummy, I try for hot and sour soup. I have a couple of prepared packages in the pantry. Not as good as made from scratch but it still does it.

    I can’t remember if you’re a vegetarian but if not there’s always chicken soup.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  14. Eden February 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    “Quit your bawling and go to school.”

    Feel better yet? 😉

  15. Krista February 12, 2008 at 7:08 pm #

    Breathing. I just spent a week in the hospital for pnmonia. I understand your struggle. In, out, in, out…..in, …etc.

  16. Heather (the muse has left..) February 14, 2008 at 1:51 am #

    Tea and cinnamon toast, followed by a long nap on the couch. Does wonders for me.

  17. thordora February 14, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    naps? What are THOSE?

Leave a Reply

