The Real Rosalyn

5 Feb



The Real Rosalyn

Originally uploaded by thordora

She squirmy and cranky and slobbery and clingy and lovable and frustrating and sweet sweetness, all at once.

I love this age.

I overheard two women on the bus last night say this is the age they miss the most-that place between 3 and 5, where they still love you without condition (most days) and everything is new and wonderful and just waiting to be grasped.

I know I will miss it. Vivian is nearly gone from it, moving into a world of lanky arms and misfit hair, a land of other children, adults I don’t know. But Ros? Ros is still all mine, for now.

I know I’ll need to let go. But don’t mind me if I’d like to freeze her in time somedays, so I can hold onto her goodness and badness forever.

10 Responses to “The Real Rosalyn”

  1. Hannah February 5, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    I know I’ve said it before but my god, that child is like your clone, or something.

    I know too its been difficult lately for you and Rosalyn, that she is making it hard to like her some days. (We always love our children. But liking, sometimes, is elusive).

    This is a lovely post.

  2. Gwen February 5, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    I love the squishiness of my four year old and the fact that I can still pick her up and cuddle her. It’s nearly impossible to cuddle my 7 year old; she really is all hard angles and bone.

    I love that photo! It captures everything you say about her.

  3. merseydotes February 5, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    Petunia is just over 4 and while I have been looking forward to age 5-10, there is something so innocent and trusting about her age right now. She’s never been the most affectionate kid, but her dad and I are still the most important things in her world right now. It’s sad and sort of scary to think that we will soon be eclipsed in importance, maybe by people that we don’t even know (friends, teachers, etc).

  4. Mad Hatter February 5, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    Yes. Three is making me so very happy. I want to stop it all right here but I am resigned to that fair bitch, time.

  5. Netter February 5, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    Three was very sweet, but too stubborn by half. We seem to be sliding into four nicely. I’m not looking forward to him getting any older. I miss him already when I think of him separating from me.

  6. jen February 5, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    you just made my day, and reminded me to stop taking this for granted. thank you for that.

  7. Nat February 5, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    Your kids are pretty sweet. They’ll be loveable at any age, I think. 😉

  8. thordora February 5, 2008 at 6:27 pm #

    Everyone always “bitches” about ages, but we’re learning that each one has it’s rewards, and it’s issues-they just change with each age.

    And right now, this house is purely full of love. I don’t want that to go away. I will miss my little girls when they are gone.

  9. Julie Pippert February 5, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    I will probably look back and see that I had more of P2 than I knew, but right now her Three is so overwhelming and she is such a squirmy and wriggly away sort of child that I barely feel as if I ever had her. Not like with Patience.

    I do agree that every age has its good and bads. That’s why I enjoy the one we are at and don’t pine too hard for the one left behind.

  10. Heather (AmeriMama) February 6, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    Oooh, I know how you feel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

