If a tooth falls in a three year old mouth, does anyone hear it?

5 Feb

I came home to a three year old with a bloody mouth and a VERY loose front tooth.

Apparently, her face met her Daddy’s head, and this resulted.

I’m making an appointment with the dentist for her since it’s about time anyway, but I was wondering if anyone has had this happen? I’m concerned for her permanent teeth-not overly so, but still. She’s already got some issues from sucking her thumb, but since she’s mostly stopped now, I’m not so worried.

I’m just waiting for her to break something. I know it’s coming.

ETA: She ripped the tooth from her own mouth, said ‘Tooth” and put it in the garbage. We go see the dentist tomorrow.

18 Responses to “If a tooth falls in a three year old mouth, does anyone hear it?”

  1. Jen February 5, 2008 at 7:31 pm #

    I have no experience, but poor baby 😦

  2. mike golch February 5, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    Ouch,I can relat to the banged head though.I tend to hit mine into thing when I have a seizure,fortunaly for me I have not damaged any teeh yet.

  3. mamaloo February 5, 2008 at 8:43 pm #

    Kieran has a girl in his class (JK) who is missing all her middle front teeth (like all four!). Poor girl looks a bit kooky, bu she’s a happy go lucky girl. I’ve never asked, but I’d assume it was the result of an accident.

    I’d guess the new one will come in around 7 years as usual with little problem, unless she’s badly damaged the nerve.

  4. Caitlin February 5, 2008 at 9:17 pm #

    My mother-in-law had three boys and the youngest knocked his top 4 front teeth out in one go when he was about 4. He had to wear a spacer and go back for more frequent checkups until his permanent teeth came in. But once they were in, I don’t think he had any orthodontic problems related to knocking those teeth out.

    Hope she feels better soon and the dentist can do something about her tooth so it stays put.

  5. Julie Pippert February 5, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    It depends on so much. P1 did have to lose her tooth, and they put in a spacer to hold the shape, which apparently is really important.

    Sorry that happened and good luck!!!

  6. Kelly O February 5, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    Aw, poor little girl!!

  7. landismom February 5, 2008 at 10:58 pm #

    Not knocked out, but removed because of an abscess. Like Julie’s P1, the Bee has had a spacer for four(?) years. It’s coming out next week, though, because her tooth is coming in–quite a bit earlier than they originally told us, too (like, three years earlier).

  8. Marcy February 5, 2008 at 11:27 pm #

    Yikes!

    (I thought I heard that the latest research indicates that thumb-sucking and / or pacifiers have no identifiable effect on need for orthodontics…)

  9. thordora February 5, 2008 at 11:32 pm #

    well, something had an affect on her bottom teeth-from the way she sucked her thumb, it was the only thing that made sense….I think the research meant long term effects-I’ll have to look.

  10. radical mama February 5, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    Egads! I hope all goes well with the dentist, but I am sure it won’t be a crisis since it was her baby teeth.

  11. Mogo February 6, 2008 at 1:33 am #

    “Apparently, her face met her Daddy’s head, and this resulted.”

    you say that like you don’t believe me…

    more accurately, her chin met the top of my head…

    let’s face it though: it was only a matter of time with her…

  12. Michelle at Scribbit February 6, 2008 at 2:26 am #

    We’ve got one hanging on here too–but as coincidence has it she’s got a DDS visit tomorrow and I think he’ll pop that baby out of there.

  13. thordora February 6, 2008 at 7:39 am #

    Baby, I believe you-I just wasn’t there to see it.

    And yeah…with this one, I’m sure we’re in for LOTS of ER visits in the near future.

  14. thordora February 6, 2008 at 7:42 am #

    And thanks all for the commiseration. It’s good to know we aren’t the only ones to have this happen. 🙂

  15. Lgirl February 6, 2008 at 8:41 am #

    My 3yo niece lost her front tooth came out complete with root. No spacerr and they wouldn’t put it back in. I still wonder if she should have had a spacer but 2 docs said no.

  16. meredith February 6, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    OW. Ow. Ow. Ow. OW OW OW OW OW OW OW OW OW OW OW OW.

    Damn you, my teeth hurt so bad now.

  17. CharmingDriver February 8, 2008 at 3:28 am #

    When I was about 18 months old, I whacked my mouth on the (same) corner of the (same) coffee table three or four times in one afternoon (the coffee table was then set out to the curb with the garbage and my dad’s most salient parenting advice came to be, ”You can have babies or a coffee table BUT NOT BOTH AT THE SAME TIME!!”

    Fast forward to the next day when my mom left my sister and I with a friend/sitter and when she (sitter) put me in a highchair for lunch, my front teeth just….fell out. The sitter FUH-REAKED and called my parents all, ”I SWEAR! I DIDN’T DO ANYTHING! HER TEETH JUST FELL OUT!!” ….hee.

    Anyway – no permanent damage but I didn’t have front teeth again until I was EIGHT – EIGHT YEARS OLD (which would have been fine if I lost them when I was seven, right). So likely no lasting damage just a few extra years of being snaggle-toothed (and singing, ”all I want for Christmas is my two front teeth”, heh).

  18. thordora February 8, 2008 at 7:40 am #

    Everything looked ok, so much as we could see. She clamped that mouth shut tight-took three of us to pry it open. A distinct contrast to Vivian who needs to be told to SHUT her mouth.

    He told us not to worry, which is good.

Leave a Reply

