Overheard at the Grocery Store

2 Feb

“Oh, you like green tea? Well you should try oblong tea. A friend of mine really likes it. That’s right-OBLONG TEA.”

sigh.

13 Responses to “Overheard at the Grocery Store”

  1. Caitlin February 2, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    I bet “oblong tea” goes good with “bignits” (beignets), “pee can pray-lines” (pecan pralines), and “cafe uh late” (cafe au lait).

  2. Kathy February 2, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    That is awesome! (I could go for a cup of “oblong” tea right now.)

  3. thordora February 2, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    caitlin, I’m gonna pee from laughing. That’s so true.

    I thought about turning around and correcting her, but it’s funnier to let her go through life saying it wrong. 🙂

  4. Nat February 2, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    LMAO @ Oblong tee and PEE CAN PRAY LINES!!! hahahaha

  5. Gwen February 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    I prefer the triangular tea myself …..

  6. bipolarlawyercook February 2, 2008 at 4:05 pm #

    You killed him/her, I hope? Just to put us out of his/her misery?

  7. marcelarhodus February 2, 2008 at 7:55 pm #

    That is indeed hilarious… great laugh to start my day 🙂

  8. mercurial scribe February 3, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    Hehehe.

    Last night at the mall I heard a little 12-yr-old girl trying to sing Green Day, repeatedly singing “I want to be an American Idiot!” and bobbing her little head all over the place.

    Oh how it hurt!

  9. Carin February 4, 2008 at 4:15 pm #

    I know it will become blatently obvious what tea you’re talking about as soon as you say it, but what the hell kind of tea were they trying to say? I know there’s no such thing as oblong tea, but what the hell were they going for? *Hange head in shame that I don’t know *

  10. thordora February 4, 2008 at 5:03 pm #

    oolong tea….it’s likely just a sight mistake (which might be why you’re not getting the joke. :O) )

  11. Carin February 4, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    Wow I’ve never heard of it. *crawls out from under rock*

  12. Nat February 5, 2008 at 1:35 am #

    I am still laughing about this…. I just wanna follow that person around for a day. Just to see what a day in her life is like. Someone pelase get her a t-shirt that reads “Ask me about my oblong tea” (I don’t even DRINK tea, but I knew what she meant to say!) 😉 I wanna hear her pronounce japaleno. Heeheehee :p

    I’m evil today. I know.

  13. thordora February 5, 2008 at 7:36 am #

    It was the sheet certainty in her voice that amused me….and the fact that the guy was kinda like “ooooookkkkkkk……”

Leave a Reply

