We love the nightlife

1 Feb

We have entered a new territory with Rosalyn. She’s bridged the gap between sweet innocent toddler and small devious child.

Last night, I came home from getting some groceries to find the girls already in bed. (They share a room) Since I always pick them up something small with the groceries, usually books, I wanted to hand them over before they fell asleep-alphabet dot to dots for Vivian, and an Incredibles book for Ros, who seems to be in love with Dash.

This was a mistake.

Once Rosalyn realizes that I am home, a thought and a need begins in her head. And then, the “But I need _________” game starts.

“I need Teddy.”

“I need a book”

“I need a train”

Or my personal favorite

“I need…something”

Vivian used to do this as well. It drove me, quite frankly, batshit. The dawdling, the hemming and the hawwing and the “one more minutes!”-I cannot deal with them. And really-you’ve been running all day long, it’s 8pm, shut down, and go to sleep. You’re up at 6:30 half the time. Give it a rest.

Poor Vivian looks like hell lately, because Rosalyn has a motor that just won’t quit, and she insists on waking her up. This morning I looked at Viv and said “Did you sleep at ALL?”

“Yes. But Rosie kept waking me up. She wanted to steal my dolly and I didn’t want her too but she wouldn’t listen.”

A familiar refrain in our house. Rosalyn LIVES to torment her sister, and apparently, this joy stretches to the wee hours.

I don’t know why Rosalyn just cannot leave well enough alone. I know that neither of them are getting the sleep they need, but if they nap then they’re going until 10 or 11pm, and still up at the crack of dawn, so naps have (mostly) been outlawed in our house. But I hate the fact that Rosalyn can’t shut it off most of the time.

I can handle the 3 year old, need a few more moments with Mummy stuff. But keeping her sister awake half the night? I don’t know what to do there. It’s bad enough Vivian has had to learn to sleep with the snoring….

Anyone have siblings sharing a room? Or are we the only ones mean enough to stick our kids in one room?

18 Responses to “We love the nightlife”

  1. Mogo February 1, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    despite any of that, they’ve been playing together quite nicely this morning. so well in fact that the TV hasn’t even been turned on yet, and it’s 10:30…

  2. thordora February 1, 2008 at 11:01 am #

    awesome. They had a good breakfast this morning though-cereal, grapes and crossiant….so they SHOULD be happy 🙂

  3. Hannah February 1, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    I had to share a room with my sister for (drumroll please) twelve years. And she was a terror for getting me up in the middle of the night (or worse, 5AM) to talk to me about imaginary stuff. She was also a sleepwalker and over the years – while completely asleep – she peed in my bed while I was still in it, hit me in the face, and broke a lamp.

    Unfortunately, there isn’t much you can do, other than keeping the door open for a while to monitor Rosie, and make it clear that she is not allowed to wake Viv up. And make sure Viv knows it’s OK to come get you guys if the tormenting is really getting out of hand.

    Which sucks for you, it means your sleep will be interrupted for a while too, but Rosie’s pretty bright and will get the idea.

    You could also try what my mom finally did, which was hanging a blanket from the ceiling down the middle of the room, to mark the boundary. And then gave my sister a flashlight so she could whoop ‘er up on her side of the room without bothering me as much.

    Or put Scotch in Rosie’s glass of water.

  4. thordora February 1, 2008 at 11:17 am #

    Is it bad that I’m laughing so hard at the peeing part?

    I just don’t know how much is exaggeration. They tend to scream when arguing, and I only hear that at around 6, so I don’t know if Viv is stretching the truth, or if Ros really IS that much of a pain in the ass.

    Did you enjoy sharing the room otherwise?

  5. radical mama February 1, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    I shared a room with my sister until I was 7. Even after we had our own rooms, we would crawl into each other’s beds in the middle of the night to snuggle. That probably lasted until I was 12 or so, unless one of us was really upset about something in middle or high school. Then we would sleep in the same bed.

    A and Em share a room. They do fight quite a bit, but they also don’t want separate rooms. (And we don’t have extra rooms even if they did.) I would try a white noise machine, or humidifier, or something that would drown out Rosie’s talking a bit. Other than that, it’s just something that she needs to adapt to, I think.

  6. thordora February 1, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    We have a fan in there, but it’s a very echoey small room, and Ros is, well, Black Canary like. 🙂

    They do need to learn to deal, since we don’t have another room at the moment anyway.

  7. Candy February 1, 2008 at 12:21 pm #

    We had the opposite problem. Children of different genders who would rather sleep together than in their own rooms. Mass chaos and very little sleeping.

    May I suggest having Rosalyn fall asleep elsewhere and then transferring her to her bed later? Or will she wake up and not go back to sleep? Sigh…kids and their sleep…it is an age old problem.

    I just used to threaten them and tell them, “After 8pm you’re on MY TIME and it won’t be pretty.”

  8. Mad Hatter February 1, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    I think Beck’s kids all share one big room.

    Can you banish Ros to a cot in an unwelcoming part of the house for a few days so that she’ll know it’s a privilege to come back to her bedroom? Just a thought and I know it might be too tough a love notion.

  9. Bon February 1, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    i’ve been seriously considering, if we have the next one we very much want, whether they could share a room. i didn’t grow up with siblings, so the truth is the idea is as foreign to me as putting kids to sleep in the tub or something. but it would allow us all to stay far more comfortabley in the house we have, and a part of me thinks…it’d be nice for them.

    i’d considered the waking each other by accident, especially while #2 was small. but the torture? hadn’t thoughtta that.

    reading all the responses with great interest, as a result. and wondering…when did you move Rosie into Viv’s room? any tips? no rush. but wondering.

  10. thordora February 1, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    I was VERY nervous about it when we did it. I have a brother, but at 7 years older than me, he didn’t loom large in my life as a child.

    We moved Ros in about 6 months or so into it-she slept with us for the first 3 months, then in the playpen in the basement since Vivian was in the crib. Once we got Vivian out of the crib, and Ros sleeping through the night, we made the move.

    Vivian was excited to have Ros in there, and Ros, well, Ros didn’t really care.

    We just did LOTS of prep with Vivian-since she was moving to a big girl bed, there was lots of talk about big sister, big girl, yadda yadda yadda.

    And she didn’t have a choice. That helped. 🙂

    Most transitions in our house have gone smoothly. If Ros woke her up crying, Viv was very understanding (she’s a really sweet kid that way) We’ve been lucky methinks.

  11. radical mama February 1, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    We moved Em into A’s room when she was about 6 months old and not waking up too much in the night. A slept (and still sleeps) through Em’s noise. El has her own room right now at 20 months, but we only have three bedrooms so once the baby moves out of our room the two little ones will be sharing as well. I guess I see it this way: we have to learn to get along in life. They will have roomates in college, they will share a room with their spouse and maybe their children as adults. It’s good practice. Not necessary practice, of course, but I know a lot of people who are staunch believers that children have the “right” to their own rooms. Really? Where do I get in line for that “right”? 🙂

  12. Gwen February 1, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    This is exactly why I don’t want my kids in the same room, even though they beg for a bunk bed and the opportunity to room together all the time. But between boarding school and sharing a room with my three sisters for most of my time at home, I’ve had enough of roommates, thank you very much.

  13. Hannah February 1, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    I suppose in retrospect the peeing is funny. Wasn’t so amusing at the time, mind you. 😉

    I have to admit, I didn’t much like sharing a room once we puberty showed up – but generally speaking as little kids it was pretty cool. We had an extremely small house – way too small for a family with four kids – and it was neat to have a zone that was just ours. Especially when our younger brother made his appearance on the scene.

    I do have to warn you, the honeymoon was over when I turned 12. She was forever spying and listening in on phone calls and generally being a complete raging 9 year old pest. We moved to a bigger house when I was 15 and it was bliss. But none of those fights caused any lasting damage or rifts – we’re very close now, we chat online or talk just about every day. I’d say on balance it was a positive experience – positive enough that we’re talking about maybe putting baby # 2 in Isaac’s room, even though we have the space for them to have their own rooms.

    Sorry to keep hijacking your comments today, it’s way easier than trying to come up with something original for my blog.

  14. thordora February 1, 2008 at 3:00 pm #

    We’re well aware that we will need to break them up at puberty. We hope to move to something bigger well before that. We really just need one more room.

    Gwen-the idea of sharing rooms bothered me because I hate sharing. There was NO WAY I was going into Res in university-sharing a room with a stranger? HELLS NO. I like my space. Mogo is allowed, but even that gets to me, not having my own space.

    I would have liked someone in the room on those nights I thought the witch was climbing in my window though.

  15. Julie Pippert February 1, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    Sigh. Hello. This is my life. Persistence, age 3, tormentor of priests and her sister, age 6, equally.

    They have separate rooms.

    Patience requires her own space. And we happen to have it. Life is better that way. (Which means…less whining for me to moderate.)

    Persistence would live attached to other people 24/7 if she could, poor little duck out of water extrovert in a family of introverts.

    She drives me batshit with, “I need…” too, especially, “I need YOU!” As much as I am grateful she uses her words. 🙂

    I don’t know the solution…wish I did. Good luck.

  16. Jenny February 1, 2008 at 3:31 pm #

    Hailey does that awful “I want another ___” game. Hate it.

    Don’t feel bad about forcing them to share a room. I have to share a room with my husband and I bet he’s way more annoying than any small devious child.

  17. Caitlin February 1, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    I used to share a room with my sister and she was bad about keeping me up too. I finally told her a story about the “witch in the closet”. The closet was right next to her bed, so she decided to move herself out of my room during the night. I thought I did a pretty good job until my mom made me move everything back. After that, it just took reminding her that the “witch could hear her”.

    My sister and I hated each other when we lived together, because we shared such a small room. There was no privacy, and my sister was horrible about rifling through my things and I barely had any space because of her piano. I don’t know how my parents stood it, because it was literally 12 years of tit for tat, to the point of my sister taking scissors to my clothes when I was in high school and the “Mexican Talk Radio War of ’96”.

    Is there anyway you can give each of them a private spot in the house to go to when the other is in the bedroom? I think that might help Vivian let Rosalyn’s actions roll off her back more easily. It’s hard being the big sister and feeling like nothing is really your own anymore, especially when you’re a little kid.

  18. Carin February 1, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    Jebbus. I cannot imagine having my bed peed in. Yikes! I shared a room with my sister. It wasn’t really bad. It felt like an upgrade since for years my parents thought I wouldn’t make it outside their room…arg protectiveness of the blind kid. Anyway. This felt like I was actually one of the kids again. And my sister said amusing things in her sleep. Sometimes it sucked when we had a fight and one of us ran off to the bedroom, but other than that, it was ok.

Leave a Reply

