Stuff on a Monday

7 Jan

I sat down, inspired to write something epic and marvelous, something dripping with sentiment, something silent and soft.

Yeah, I gots nothin.

***********************

The first day back to work from vacation is always long, painful, and futile. I don’t think I made a dent in my email, in the multitude of NEEDITRIGHTNOW!!!! tasks queued in line for me. Everyone always needs things first thing on a Monday, which is nice and all, but since I spend the first 3 working on an urgent report, I don’t really care. Add in the backlog from two weeks away from work, and you have my day.

I also slept like crap last night, between the cat, and the racing brain trying to lay out my day. So I’ve been tired.

Tomorrow will likely be lovely, since it will be assumed that I’m “caught up”

oh. Even the words make me giggle like Britney in an ambulance.

******************************

My day was made better by walking in the door and seeing a sewing machine my father bought me. SQUEE!

Now I just need to figure out how to use it. Can’t be that hard, right? Right?

How awesome is that. My father, even after all this time, will go out of his way to get me the things I want, the things I think of. It’s his way of trying to care for me, of showing affection and love after all this time. Money was always tight as a child, so a special purchase was always appreciated and loved.

I’m afraid to try it out-then I’ll NEVER get Francis’ blanket finished.

**********************

Still nothing to say. Of course, with my own personal Motormouth Maybelle sitting behind me, how I’m able to even type is a mystery to me.

9 Responses to “Stuff on a Monday”

  1. Jen January 7, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    That’s so funny–I’ve been moving a broken sewing machine from apartment to apartment for years and *just* decided to look for repair places last night! Hurray for sewing machines. There’s nothing to using ’em, really πŸ™‚

    Lucy and I ordered fleece for some no-sew blankets and she wants to make one for Francis so no worries πŸ˜‰

  2. thordora January 7, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    I’m half done so dammit, it’s getting done before he’s in school. πŸ™‚

  3. allyo January 7, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    A sewing machine! That’s wonderful. If I can teach myself how to use one, anyone can. Seriously. And let me recommend Bend the Rules Sewing by Amy Karol. Wonderful book, tons of projects, and a flickr group that doubles as a help forum. Everything a beginner sewer needs.

  4. misspudding January 8, 2008 at 6:36 am #

    I feel your pain on the work stuff.

    Long time no comment. Happy New Year!!

  5. Netter January 8, 2008 at 11:19 am #

    Work sucks. Sewing is great. If my machine were working. Yay for daddies who do the best they can.

  6. Marcy January 8, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    “something epic and marvelous, something dripping with sentiment, something silent and soft” can go, well, you fill in the blank.

    I prefer your everyday, off the cuff posts anyway.

    Congrats on the sewing machine!

  7. Hannah January 8, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    I have to admit I can’t get excited about the sewing machine, I hate hate HATE sewing. My mom used to be a seamstress and let’s just say that being “taught” how to sew by a perfectionist will forever cause an otherwise stable human being to curl up on the floor in the fetal position at the very thought of “patterns” or “basting” or “seam allowances”.

    Happy for you though – I’m sure there are people who think I’m a hopeless dork that I’m thrilled about getting really nice cookpots for Xmas.

  8. thordora January 8, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    My mom was a seamstress as well, but she never had a chance to teach me. I so HATE my memories of standing still having a pattern pinned on me. Oooh straight pins, I hate thee.

  9. Marcy January 8, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    I’ve basically taught myself to sew. I had some instruction from mom and in home ec, but years passed… I think what really got me going was the day I went to the fabric store armed with some spare fabric, spent an hour or two looking at patterns, asked an employee which one I had enough fabric for, was told neither, cried when I got back in the car, then said screw it I’m making a pattern myself. And hence I made a dress for Amy, very simple, not at all perfect, but good enough, and all mine.

Leave a Reply

