Dear Vivian on Sunday

6 Jan

You stand in the window, hissing, toy cobra in hand. Shaking slightly side to side, watching for sparrows and chickadees out the window, out through the snowdrifts that are higher than you, out into today, grey today, the early pages of morning.

You catch me watching you, and stare curious at me, questioning. I smile softly, you grin back, a secret caught between us a moment stolen out, snatched from time. I can hold this, I can keep this safe inside, your messy hair, dancing eyes, detritus of breakfast and lord knows what else on your face, those soft cheeks covered. Those cheeks grew too fast, and I find myself looking myself over for signs of age.

Eons ago you were an infant in my arms, grinning, giggling, apple of eyes and now, you ask about antennae and if I babysat you when you were in my tummy. So tall, sprinting around the house, flying, your wings gossamer and invisible, toting a balloon and sheer joy at life as it carries you up and around.

You can fly child. On your words, on wonder, that miraculous place you inhabit today. You can float upwards into the heavens, and report back. Tell me they love you, the angels, the planets, the stars.

Tell me they love you more than I do. It will be a lie.

8 Responses to “Dear Vivian on Sunday”

  1. juliepippert January 6, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    Just so beautiful. An image in words, of her, and the moment.

  2. jen January 6, 2008 at 1:14 pm #

    nothing will ever, not ever, beat a mother’s love. your love.

  3. cat January 6, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    Someday, perhaps she will see this one and remember that magic again. You capture it perfectly.

  4. Gillian January 6, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    Beautiful. Just Beautiful.

  5. marcelarhodus January 6, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    you just brought tears to my eyes… and it’s 5am…
    your words are as beautiful as the love you share.

  6. sweetsalty kate January 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    I loved this… it so brightened my day.

  7. daisybones January 7, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    Could you please start sending me a dollar for every time you make me cry? Because I will quickly get rich and that will be awesome.

    Good Gods woman. Have mercy! 🙂

  8. daureen January 7, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    wow I’m touched… you words are so beautiful, they inspire…. I wish I had half your talent.

Leave a Reply

