Thank you for choosing Hoover!

25 Dec

Now, this will likely sound ungrateful.

No, actually it WILL sound ungrateful.

Mogo had been hiding my present from his parents in the garage for a few weeks. I was excitedly hoping it was a sewing machine or a waffle maker.

heh.

Apparently, my bitching about our broken vacuum a few months back was remembered by my inlaws. Cause that’s what I got. Mogo got an 80GB iPod, I got a vacuum, frying pans and skin cream.

Sigh.

This is compounded by the fact that a friend received a SLR for Xmas from her husband. While I am under no illusions about the fact that we can’t afford that, and I’m likely buying one with my bonus in March, it still inspired a desire to stamp my feet and whine. Loudly. Which I had to restrain from doing since I’m 30 and all.

Still. It kinda sucked. Recieving gifts for the house, and not me makes me feel ripped off. At least the baking related item last year was a cool bundt pan I wanted. A vacuum just feels like the ultimate of domestication.

I do appreciate it. We do need it, and it DOES kick ass. (OMFG the crap that came out of the carpet in our bedroom) But it’s depressing all the same.

Granted, the rest of the family did good. My brother brought me 25 hanks of Louet yarn since his friend runs the company (and believe me-it looks amazing on the website-it’s DIVINE in person) which would have ran me a good $$ buying. I got a bunch of books I wanted, like this and this and these. A couple of CD’s I wanted. Some shortbread (yum!).

But when you’re expecting something else….jebbus it makes you feel like that 8 year old who didn’t get Fashion Plates….

**********************

The girls cleaned up, but awesomely enough, they LOVED everything we got them. The dollhouse was a HUGE hit. Rosalyn loved her topΒ (we left the batteries out) and the pogo stick was fun for both. We’re happy that they’re happy.

Bits of paper are strewn all over the basement, I’ve eaten too much candy, and I think I’ll go finish off the wine.

Despite my own whining, it’s been an awesome day.

oh, and the test tube alien? Is actually pretty damn cool and she loved it. πŸ™‚

What did YOU get?

21 Responses to “Thank you for choosing Hoover!”

  1. Kathy December 25, 2007 at 6:59 pm #

    My family and I don’t really exchange gifts. (And I don’t have a significant other at the moment.) But that’s okay. I tell myself that’s okay, but when I see people listing everything they got, it reminds of being in grade school, first day back after vacation and “comparing” Christmas hauls.

    A couple years ago, I really wanted an iRobot. Grown-up gifts can be cool, kind of.

  2. thordora December 25, 2007 at 7:06 pm #

    It feels that way too actually.

    I know I “need” the things I get but dammit, I want useless crap sometimes. I’ll buy myself what I need. πŸ™‚

  3. Judy December 25, 2007 at 7:12 pm #

    Well, I got a weight set and a mini-stepper, but I was with him when he bought them, so it’s all good. I got other stuff too – a little digital camera I can keep in my purse, since our other one is too huge to carry around easily.

    We got our boys (well, Santa did) the same dollhouse, and they both love it.

    Oh, I also got a soccer ball from my Guthrie (ha!) and potholders from my daughter (wtf?). And my mom’s gifts didn’t totally suck!

    Sorry yours wasn’t so great. We’re having a decent day, considering Guthrie had a 104F (40C) fever last night, and is still not completely well.

  4. thordora December 25, 2007 at 7:36 pm #

    We’ve had a great day. The girls have been INCREDIBLE the past two days. I’ve been so proud!

    I wanted an elliptical trainer as well…methinks I’ll be using my bonus for that as well.

    We need it, I appreciate it, but man, a vacuum? I’m so old….

  5. meredith December 25, 2007 at 9:41 pm #

    I got a vacuum two years ago. I was so excited. I must be a goober. This year I got a new fridge (albeit, 2 months ago). I also got a rad painting, a few books, money and towels.

    Merry Christmas to you!

  6. landismom December 25, 2007 at 10:51 pm #

    Yeah, I got a couple of books. Good books, but nothing that stellar, especially since I splurged and got the dh a turntable that converts vinyl to MP3s.

    I did buy myself some new boots, though.

  7. LGirl December 25, 2007 at 11:15 pm #

    wait Wait You vacuumed on Dec 25th? That’s just Wrong!

    Happy Holiday anyway!

    I got a portable Photo printer the Hp one that adds borders and you can draw on it….. I love it, but DH kept on stressing how convenient that is can be battery operated. You know for those urgent printing needs say…. when you’re in a tent or picking pumpkin in a field or at the drive thru. LOL

  8. Eden December 25, 2007 at 11:46 pm #

    I got a handvac πŸ˜‰ But I wanted mine.

  9. 2Franks December 26, 2007 at 12:01 am #

    My family thinks I need to be domesticated.

    I got a set of pots (I don’t cook, I eat at the bar next door), a blanket (everyone complains about the temperature in here. I’ll turn up the heat when somebody else pays the hydro bill).

    Then they did me proud! A bottle of vodka, a bottle of gin, and a bottle of wild berry schnapps.

    It was a great two days, spent with my limited family. Lots of booze, pot and way too much to eat.

    Godiva Chocolate Liqueur is yummy.

    This weekend, we’re going to see Sweeney Todd.

  10. croutonboy December 26, 2007 at 12:18 am #

    Families are where gifts break down completely. Without internal screams of “YOU DON’T KNOW ME AT ALL!” and “YOU CHEAP BASTARDS” it wouldn’t be Christmas.

    That being said, I hope your vacuum really sucks. Merry Christmas

  11. marcelarhodus December 26, 2007 at 1:30 am #

    we did not give each other gifts, my husband and I, we’ve both had our share of bad guesses in the past so we’ve agreed to not try to surprise each other anymore, and we’re both happy with this arrangement. Morgan is so thrilled with the kid camera and Mackenzie is totally in love with the puppy he got. we had a very low key morning and they were happy with what they got, it was perfect.

    it does seem wrong to get a vacuum for Xmas… but at least it’s a good one.
    I’m so glad the girls were good and you had a great day together, that is what’s most important… at least it sure is a small compensation for the disappointment of the vacuum….

    I too want an eliptical or a treadmill for next year.

    and I’m so getting the vegetarian recipe book you got~

  12. Cori December 26, 2007 at 10:45 am #

    M and I got ourselves a new elliptical for Chanukah. Our old one was in bad shape from so much use. It feels great to use one that works properly!

    My parents got me a pretty scarf and a gift card to Barnes and Noble. My SIL got us a pretty blue glass pitcher. MIL got us a gift card to Target. My sister got us a gift card to Target, too.

    The relatives spoil the kids rotten during Chanukah, whereas M and I only get them a each a few little things and one larger gift. They did very well this year πŸ™‚

    Sorry you got such practical gifts, but I’m glad you had such a nice holiday with your family. I did, too. That’s what matters most. And your carpet will be spotless when you do it again!!!!

  13. thordora December 26, 2007 at 11:10 am #

    Yeah, what does matter is that the kids were happy and well behaved. They actually got along!

    And waking up this morning to perfectly cleaned carpets was kinda nice I must admit….

  14. bine December 26, 2007 at 1:00 pm #

    oh my, i think i’m not having a very good christmas. the man and i had a lovely christmas eve (we don’t do presents, but a lot of loving) and i went to see my dad yesterday, got a pair of awesome swimming goggles, a few books and a glass of his delicious home made raspberry jam, today i return to cologne to find that my darling has torn the flat apart to unpack his last boxes … i’m sitting in the biggest mess you ever saw, nothing is in the same place and every horizontal surface is covered in books, electronic devices and clutter … i don’t know if i want to laugh or cry.

  15. bine December 26, 2007 at 1:06 pm #

    i totally understand your issues about the hoover. i would have been mad as hell i think. giving household utilities for christmas and birthdays was an absolut no-no with my parents.
    i’m sure you’ll love that hoover eventually for it’s magic sucking qualities. still, a sewing machine or a waffle maker would have ruled.
    have fun with your new stuff! what’s the yarn for, crocheting? can’t wait to see what it turns into!

  16. minnie December 26, 2007 at 2:12 pm #

    i got a high definition dvd player…. that is engraved HOMER.

    no worries. i’ll be buying myself a serger this week.

  17. Candy December 26, 2007 at 3:03 pm #

    I learned, somewhere in my 30s, to stop expecting to be happy with what I am given, because it only leads to disappointment. I got slippers, which I asked for, but not the slippers I asked for. I hate them. I will wear them until the end of January and then declare them ripped.

  18. Jennifer December 26, 2007 at 5:53 pm #

    Dude.

    I opened 4 presents.

    1) Three calenders for the house
    2) A pilates CD
    3) Canvas shopping bags.
    4) a printer. Because, apparently the in-laws felt bad for buying themselves and their girls one for no reason, so they gave me one for xmas. We already have a perfectly good one.

    Glen and I are planning on buying each other the Wii when we can find one, as our “gift to one another”.

    But hey, I DID just buy myself an ellipitcal on the 17th when they went on sale at sears. 1200 bucks, 500 bucks off. WOO!

  19. Nat December 26, 2007 at 11:55 pm #

    DESPITE the fact that I did get what I really wanted for xmas this year (knowing we can’t really afford it, but not able to bring it back), I know that feeling all too well. I spent all my teenaged years hoping for a walkman for xmas. By the time I got one, I was 19 and bought it myself. (Only to discover that CDs were the approaching technology, might I add… lol) Not the same, u know? I felt guilty for being so disappointed, but you know what? I’m a Taurus and we tend to be a bit materialistic. lol

    But I really hoped you would get what you really wanted this year… We (that see you once in a while) don’t get the privilege of knowing what you really really really want (unless you hint…lol) but the ones who live with you “should” πŸ˜‰

  20. thordora December 27, 2007 at 8:31 am #

    Mogo did just fine-even got me the USB number pad I’ve been whining about for months…for some reason, this vacuum and frying pans just threw me….

  21. Kimberly December 27, 2007 at 7:10 pm #

    It’s the fashion plates all over again, eh?

    I too got a vacuum–a bissel carpet steamer, actually–but I asked for it, so I’m really excited to start sucking crap out of my carpets!

Leave a Reply

