Gift Tag

23 Dec

Kimberly chastised me tagged me with “hoopla” using a Christmas thingy. (Apparently, the “m” word isn’t to be used.

Since I’m lacking any motivating at the moment (I’m digging out my driveway before my brother gets here. 5 feet of snow interspersed with ice is a joy) I guess I’ll do it. And I’m scared of Kimberly. 😛

teh rules:

Here are the rules, as decreed by someone higher up than myself.
1. List 12 random things about yourself that have to do with Christmas
2. Please refer to it as a ‘hoopla’ and not the dreaded ‘m’-word
3. You have to specifically tag people when you’re done. None of this “if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged” stuff is allowed…then nobody ends up actually doing it. The number of people who you tag is really up to you — but the more, the merrier to get this ‘hoopla’ circulating through the blogosphere.
4. Please try and do it as quickly as possible. The Christmas season will be over before we know it and I’d like to get as many people involved as possible.

Randomness:

  1. I love Christmas. I really do. But I tend to be surrounded by Bah Humbug, so I just shut up and deal with it. Admittedly, this takes most of the fun out of Christmas, but I became used to this after my mother died, so I just don’t try very hard. It’s hard to be Christmasy when everyone around you is bitching and complaining about it.
  2. I LOVE me some Christmas carols. I love singing them. I was part of the childrens choir for a number of years at our church. O Holy Night, O Come Emmanuel, Huron Carol, etc etc. I’ve sung them all. Hell, at one point, I was even able to hit all the notes. Most of them make me cry for the memories, and some, just because they’re lovely.
  3. Like Kimberly, I also get the girls ornaments every year so they have them when they move out. I had started doing this for myself as a teen, until my father LOST all of the ornaments after I moved out. I buy them after Christmas to save money-we have no room on the tree anyway.
  4. I LOVE wrapping presents, and the shinier the better. I know I should use bags or not wrap, but it’s the one area in my life where I ignore the inner hippie. I do refuse to buy anything overpackaged though, if that helps.
  5. Tree goes up the first weekend of December, mostly. Any earlier and it’s annoying. Later, and what’s the point. Like people who put the tree up on the 24th-I don’t get it.
  6. Tree comes down before Twelfth Night. One of my only superstitions.
  7. We don’t have anything on the tree top. Likely never will.
  8. The Frosty the Snowman cartoon makes me cry. (crap, what doesn’t)
  9. We never decorate the house. Frankly, I’m afraid the roof would fall down if we attempted to attach lights. I love looking at lights though, especially those cool revolving snowflakes people have this year.
  10. I HATE HATE HATE those inflatable ornament things people have on their lawns. LAZY, ugly energy suckers.
  11. I wish we had carolers.
  12. I miss working retail at Christmas. I used to have a ball.

That’s it from me-again, I’m lacking in motivation today. I’d like to see the following people do this:

6 Responses to “Gift Tag”

  1. Kathy December 23, 2007 at 6:00 pm #

    Ditto on the inflatable ornament hate.

  2. Granny December 23, 2007 at 6:32 pm #

    Just dropped over to wish you a Merry Christmas and saw my name.

    I’ll try in the brief time remaining to come up with something but this year I’m more going through the motions than anything else.

    I keep thinking about the empty seats at my table.

    On the other hand, we will have 2 (my latest grandkids) that weren’t there last year.

    Back to counting my blessings.

    Merry Christmas to all of you and a peaceful New Year.

  3. meredith December 24, 2007 at 8:55 am #

    I should do the ornament thing. I stole a lot of my childhood favorites when I moved out of my parents’ house. Maybe that will be my tradition? Ornament poaching?

  4. sweetsalty kate December 24, 2007 at 9:42 am #

    Oh god! memes scare the living bejeezus out of me. My mind goes blank and I breathe with my mouth open for at least ten minutes straight, unable to move from my chair.

    But if you must know, we’re hosting Christmas Day for the first time at our house, and I’ve already had to inform my flabbergasted mother that no, there will not be a centerpiece. (!!!) And for Evan we made the most kickass Thomas playtable you’ve ever seen, from secondhand scavengings and homemade paper mache mountain tunnels. His head is going to spin around backwards tomorrow morning. And that’s all there is for presents, because Justin and I have been too busy rattling our chains and shouting at jolly neighbours and cracking the whip on poor Bob Cratchett to shop.

    That’s all I’ve got!

    Merry Christmas Thor! We were in your city yesterday and the day before, and every time we head out on the obligatory big-box and mega-mall adventure I always think of how cool it would be to run into you and squeal and jump up and down and, like, TOTALLY freak Justin out.

  5. Marcy December 24, 2007 at 5:00 pm #

    Done.

  6. thordora December 27, 2007 at 9:34 am #

    Kate, I was in the mall the other day, and kept thinking I might run into you. How strange!

    and I would totally be looking at Justin’s, and Mogo’s faces, cause they’d both just be like “freaks”.

Leave a Reply

