In This Twilight

20 Dec

For some reason, I have some weird thing with apocalyptic, end of the world stuff. I don’t know why-ever since I was a little kid, I’ve felt like I should prepare for the end of the world, nuclear winter, all that good stuff. Maybe it’s the paranoia side of bipolar, or hell, maybe I acknowledge something others try not to-that we live in times that could lead to all sorts of bad things very easily. I try to take comfort in the fact that usually cooler heads prevail. It’s hard to, since eventually, I know they won’t.

I finally got around to picking up Year Zero by NIN. I had put it off since I hadn’t “loved” the last few albums, and I don’t have the same need for aggression. I still like it, I’m just not in any hurry to get it.

I should have bought this when it came out. I don’t know if anyone is aware of how they promoted this album, or what the album is like, but it’s damn cool. The album is basically this narrative, imagining 22 years in the future, assuming Bush’s reign of terror leads to it’s logical end point. (If you’ve read Octavia Butler’s Parable books, you know what I mean). So in the music, it’s basically the end of the world. (I’m not doing it any justice-go to the link) It’s this incredible viral marketing campaign as well, using the fan base to figure it out.

SQUEE for this paranoid little freak. Squee. It’s rare that an album reminds me what it’s like to be inspired, and to dream, and hope. Oddly enough, this one does.

This is an awesome fan created video of one of the best songs on the album, In This Twilight

5 Responses to “In This Twilight”

  1. Judy December 20, 2007 at 11:12 pm #

    Didn’t watch the video- weird internet connection problems lately. (growl) BUT I’ve been debating whether to get the album, as I, too, wasn’t crazy about the last one I bought. (The Fragile?) Maybe you just convinced me. Or I should ask Eric, who hasn’t got my Christmas gift yet, for this.

  2. thordora December 21, 2007 at 10:31 am #

    It’s really awesome. It’s like listening to a story, but the story doesn’t even need the lyrics. It’s just this incredible narrative through sound-the last 4 songs or so are absolutely great.

    It reminds me of how he used to weave stories in sound on his older albums.

  3. Cori December 21, 2007 at 10:47 am #

    I am totally buying that album now. Trent Reznor owes you royalties 🙂

  4. misspudding December 22, 2007 at 6:01 pm #

    Sorry I haven’t posted much lately. I’ve followed along in Google reader.

    I will say that I used to love NIN and then I got sick of it and I’m cautiously interested in this latest stuff.

    Merry Christmas if you don’t hear from me in a few months.

  5. Dragon December 29, 2007 at 10:54 am #

    This is belated, but I am totally into all the apocalyptic, end of civilization stuff too. I always figured it was because I tend to be rather morbid. Oh, and Hi!

    –Dragon

Leave a Reply

