I’m pissy today, so pizza boy, look out.

6 Dec

Why is it that when one finds a pizza place where the pizza is worth eating, and not excessively priced, the order taker is a complete, blithering idiot?

Twice now she’s fucked shit up in three orders. The first time I ordered there, she misheard the address, then accused me of giving her the wrong one. (Because I get confused about my address all the freaking time) This then went on to the delivery guy not being told it was debit, going back for it, coming back, having no paper in the machine, and coming back again, all the while blathering on and on about how he was quitting and SCREW THEM! and how he’d worked 90 hours that week, not including his other job.

I on the other hand, only walked to work uphill both ways.

Last night, I got home craving some pizza. I hadn’t had anytime to each lunch I was so busy (which will likely be repeated today) so I asked my father if we could order some. Easy enough I thought. Since we hadn’t had a chance to dig out the driveway, I clearly stated “Have him come up to the FRONT door since the driveway is NOT plowed.”

That’s clarity, right? I mean, I’m no speaking in tongues or in Arabic or some other language, like possibly english that people don’t always understand around here?

Lo and behold, he appears at the back door, looking rightfully pissed off. I state my shock at him being there, and he gets all accusatory and says I’m lucky that he delivered, since they aren’t supposed to when the driveway isn’t plowed.

Uh, dude? That’s why I told the chick the FRONT DOOR, you know, the place without any snow in front of it.

What really pisses me off is that the guy copped an attitude with me-this attitude seems to be systemic for this company, and at this point, the quality of the pizza isn’t enough for me to deal with their fucking idiocies. I mean honestly-take the order, make the food, deliver it according to the instructions. This is not rocket science. Even someone with a Grade 8 education should be able to figure this out.

I seriously don’t get what is up with some businesses around here, acting like I should consider myself lucky for gracing them with my money. Generally speaking, it’s the other way around.

6 Responses to “I’m pissy today, so pizza boy, look out.”

  1. bine December 6, 2007 at 8:26 am #

    i’d change the pizza company. stuff like that pisses me off no end, to the point i want to jump at people. poor guys and chicks, underpaid and overworked, but seriously, this isn’t your fault. they clearly show they don’t need your money. btw. it isn’t much better here. there’s this expression “service wasteland germany”. it is, really.

  2. Mogo December 6, 2007 at 9:19 am #

    here’s another “slice” of genius (sorry, couldn’t resist) from the same place:

    I called there once at approx. 3:30pm to place an order. “we don’t open until 4pm sir”… SO WHY ARE YOU ANSWERING THE FUCKING PHONE IF YOU’RE NOT OPEN, FUCKTARD?!?!?!?!

  3. amateurish December 6, 2007 at 12:12 pm #

    I used to work in restaurants so I am typically really lenient with people. I know that things are often not their fault or they might just be having a bad day – but the one thing I cannot stand is teh attitude. Customers keep your job and even if you screw up 95% of the people out there just want you take responsibility and say you’re sorry and they’ll understand. What a crappy business!

  4. thordora December 6, 2007 at 12:42 pm #

    That’s what REALLY pissed me off. The attitude that it’s all my fault. I’m NOT a moron. I don’t expect ANYONE to trudge through a 6 foot snowbank to get me my dinner. And I am certainly capable of giving my own address properly. ARGH!

    AND the pizza made me sick. So no more I tell you NO MORE!

  5. daureen December 6, 2007 at 2:50 pm #

    I’m telling you, it’s an epidemic — from the pizza guy to the president: The world is full of incompetents. They’re breeding and multiplying and taking over the world. 😉
    Cheers, Daureen
    PS – Love your blog!

  6. Yo January 9, 2008 at 4:38 am #

    to Mogo:

    It’s common for a business to pick up a phone before or after hours. It may be an employee calling in sick, a Corporate office, or something of that ilk. I’m pretty sure they are not in the wrong on this one.

Leave a Reply

