A moment to squee

5 Dec

This year, we’ve been trying to buy better toys-i.e. less crap, more brain food, toys that will actually last…

I really wanted to get Ros some wooden trucks. First I wanted to get this awesome tow truck from Craftsbury Kids, but they wanted 45.00!!!! for shipping! (Looks like it’s at least half that-there was an error on the site. Whew!) For a tiny truck!

N-O spells nu-uh.

So I decided to look to Etsy, and am I glad that I did.

I found Woodcraftedtoys, and got a toy tractor and train for Ros. I received them the other day and I am over the moon at the coolness! Who needs plastic when you can have such awesomeness? The smell of pine when I opened the box, the smooth wheels-I would have loved them when I was a kid.

Unfortunately, this seller isn’t accepting anymore orders for the year, but there are many more on Etsy. Not only was this seller Canadian, he was extremely affordable, and the goods rule.

I’m planning a bigger post on what the girls are getting, but I have zero time for that at the moment. I just needed to squee about these for a bit.

train.jpg

11 Responses to “A moment to squee”

  1. Jen December 5, 2007 at 6:56 pm #

    That is fantastic! I can smell the wood just by looking at it!

  2. N December 5, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    Very cool!

  3. bine December 5, 2007 at 7:29 pm #

    squee! that’s cute. and i love the smell of wood. i have little cedar wood blocks in my wardrobe against clothing moths and i could just stand there all day and smell the cedar wood …

  4. Carin December 5, 2007 at 8:34 pm #

    Just wait until the kiddies are old enough to read, then surf. Then you won’t be able to blog about their stuff! Hahaha! Those toys sound cool!

  5. Carin December 5, 2007 at 8:35 pm #

    By the way, I love the word squee. Awesomeness.

  6. nyjlm December 5, 2007 at 11:36 pm #

    hooray for awesome etsy finds- and for the perfect gift. That moment when you know it is just right is so joyful.

    btw, I’ll get to the music meme soon ; )

  7. nursemyra December 6, 2007 at 4:47 am #

    I’m here to comment on the squeee word too. I love it!

    is it a canadianism or a vomitcomitism?

  8. thordora December 6, 2007 at 7:36 am #

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squee

    I wish I could claim it. I just stole it.

  9. Carin December 6, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    Holy shit it came from somewhere else? I love it and thought it was yours.

  10. Cecilia December 20, 2007 at 4:47 pm #

    Hi there,

    The $45 shipping rate was actually a site-wide error. We had recently switched hosts and didn’t catch it right away. We fixed it, and the international rates are now correct.
    Happy holidays!

    Cecilia
    craftsburykids.com

  11. thordora December 20, 2007 at 6:49 pm #

    hey! Thanks for letting me know. She DOES have a birthday coming up in March…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

