Electricity, I could KISS you

4 Dec

So, yesterday, I couldn’t wait for the storm that was approaching to hit.

Heh.

dsc04237.jpg

At about 4am the power went off. How do I know that? Someone was screaming bloody murder about her light being off, and I then had to explain to a 2.5 year old what a power outage was. Which translated roughly to

“Power broken Rozie. NO light.”

Not that this stuck in her head. I must have explain 40 times through the morning that no power meant no Christmas tree lights.

Sigh.

About noon I said “the hell with this” and went back to bed, freezing and exhausted. Of course, the lights came back on shortly after.

dsc04238.jpg

I realized today how much I adore electricity. Even trying to knit was a trial since I couldn’t see anything. Having to listen to the local moron radio show for entertainment almost as painful as trying to entertain 2 small children. They came outside while I shovelled snow-that didn’t last very long, since both seem to have very delicate skin that shrivels up and screaming when snow touches it.

Sigh.

 dsc04239.jpg

I couldn’t even open the back screen door for all the snow this morning. Then I remember that we have a sliding patio door. The snow in places was up to my knees. I’m about 5 foot 9, so you do the math.

It’s beautiful out (or at least, I could acknowledge this once we had heat back) but it’s a liitle worrisome that tree limbs might start coming down. 4 inches of snow on a branch will do that.

I love storms, but even this one was a bit much. At least it met my criteria for not trying to get to work-if public transit isn’t moving, I’m not either.

And oops. Left my laptop at work.

dsc04240.jpg

16 Responses to “Electricity, I could KISS you”

  1. Kathy December 4, 2007 at 5:52 pm #

    Last summer, an electrical storm hit and I was without power for four days. A winter storm hit later than December — I was spared that time, but again, a huge part of the city was in the dark.

    Given a choice, I’d rather be without power in July than December, but I couldn’t take enough cold showers. I was very very happy to live a near an air conditioned library. (Not to mention the free Wi-Fi.)

  2. Jen December 4, 2007 at 6:09 pm #

    I covet your snow in the way only someone not having to deal with it can.

    I also love electricity. I try not to adore it so much since we’re supposed to not be using that much, but I really love it.

  3. cerebralmum December 4, 2007 at 8:16 pm #

    Oh, look at that snow! For someone who’s Christmases are sweltering days and prawns on the BBQ, it looks like a fairy tale. The beauty of it has blinded me to your plight. I’m just dazzled. 🙂

  4. Nat December 4, 2007 at 8:34 pm #

    Love the pics!! Very nice!! I haven’t had the chance to go out to take any yet… Hoping I can do that tomorrow! 🙂

  5. grandmamaryjoan December 4, 2007 at 8:34 pm #

    Thank you for sharing those gorgeous pictures. We have had only about 1/2 inch of snow.

  6. Nat December 4, 2007 at 8:34 pm #

    (In the meantime, I sit at work, while LOCAL calls pour in. Everyone’s on a snow day and instead of enjoying a day off, they call us. Lovely. haha)

  7. mercurial scribe December 5, 2007 at 1:55 am #

    Wow! It is beautiful but I don’t know how I’d handle living in it… Husband is still determined to move us to Canada too!

    Dang my dog would love to romp in it though…

  8. nursemyra December 5, 2007 at 5:15 am #

    really beautiful images

  9. bine December 5, 2007 at 6:47 am #

    beautiful pics! oh no, and i wouldn’t love sitting without electricity. our heating is gas, but the starter is electric, so no electricity = no heating = no hot water either. i’m waiting for the darn heater to break down any day anyway. must be a hundred years old.
    i’d like some snow this winter, though. why do you always have either too much or too little of the stuff?

  10. marcelarhodus December 5, 2007 at 7:17 am #

    I can’t live without electricity, so I totally feel your pain. The pictures look beautiful… I’m glad you did not go to work, although it was not a high excitement day, I’m sure it was a welcomed break.
    I have not seen snow in so long that I’m just staring at the pictures, imagining the cold and the comforting warmth of a cup of coffee…

  11. Caitlin December 5, 2007 at 8:03 am #

    Loved the pics. We’re on the road right now and drove through a few flurries yesterday in VA, but we got a few inches overnight at the hotel in WV. In addition to electricity, I like places that respond “Yes, the roads are being plowed right now” instead of “Honey, plows are for fields, not snow”.

  12. Cori December 5, 2007 at 10:15 am #

    Wow, that’s a winter wonderland!!

    Yeah, I adore electricity, too. Power outages are awful, especially during winter. It gets dark so early and it’s cold. I like Summer time outages, though. That’s how Aviva came to be 😉

  13. Hannah December 5, 2007 at 11:21 am #

    Since we moved into our new house, we’ve lost power for at least 12 hours no fewer than three times. And my in-house FIL is a compulsive worrier, which makes it even worse.

    During this storm, the lights went out at suppertime. And I prayed as I have never prayed before for them to come back on. Something like pleasegodpleasegodidon’taskformuchandi’magoodpersonjustpleasepleasepleaseturnthelightsbackon. And lo, they returned. But I promptly got a killer migraine that sent me to bed at 730.

    Here’s hoping the winter is a nice mix of non-power-outage snow days and warmish melty ones to keep us from shovelling too much.

  14. nyjlm December 5, 2007 at 11:41 pm #

    holy crap that’s some ice/snow on those branches!

    A few years ago we had to explain hurricanes and no electricity to our 2 yo. We told her the big wind put the lights out and that we’d have to wait till it was fixed.

  15. thordora December 6, 2007 at 7:37 am #

    I waas worried for awhile that some trees might come down, but thankfully, we didn’t have any rain. The tree in front of my deck door is REALLY low, which might help me trim it in the spring. 🙂

  16. Nikita December 6, 2007 at 1:56 pm #

    That’s what it looks like here too! Crazy snow… much more that we normally get this early in the winter.

    Took me 2 hours to get to work only to discover my boss called me at home 45 minutes after I left to tell me not to bother. 😛

Leave a Reply

