Goodbye NaBloPoMo.

30 Nov

So I made it through November, posting everyday.

Woot me.

Is that really meant to be a huge accomplishment?

I’ve never much believed in the value of “pressure” testing or performance. Aside from sex perhaps. (Then again, that’s a completely different type of pressure altogether) Is there true value in knowing the dates when all the prime minister was in office? Is there value in being able to write 30 days in a row?

I didn’t “win” NaNoWriMo however. I hit a wall of writer’s block, likely caused in part by poor planning, but also by my usual knee jerk reaction of “No one tells me what to do!”

That’s what stuff like this usually inspires in me-rebellion along the lines of 14 year old stubborness. Even if I do it to myself.

But I don’t get it-many sites (and possible even this one) ended up full of meme’s, stupid pictures and blathering that made no sense, or bored a person to tears. Is that a worthwhile contribution? Having a site full of advertisments while pretending to write something interesting, is that a worthwhile contribution? Being covered in tacky sparkly thingies, is that something to aspire to?

Maybe I’m a snob, ok, I am a snob in some ways. But I don’t get the drive to post drivel everyday. I undertook this wanting to see if I could commit to writing something intelligent each day, and for the most part, I believe that I succeeded.

With so many online journals out there, is it too much to ask that others try and do the same?

Regardless, it’s over, and I can go back to posting everyday like I usually do anyway.

13 Responses to “Goodbye NaBloPoMo.”

  1. Netter November 30, 2007 at 12:25 pm #

    I try to post Monday through Friday to keep my minimal audience around. But, sometimes there’s nothing to say and I do enjoy an Internet blackout like when I was in SC last week. I agree that posting just to post X number of days in a row is not really adding value to your content (ooo, publisher-speak) if you’re just throwing up something, anything. Then again, I try not to judge. I don’t have expectations for what people put on their own sites. They write for themselves, not for me.

  2. amateurish November 30, 2007 at 1:04 pm #

    I find myself aspiring to the same types of blogging goals. I end up writing nonsense sometimes, but if I often go months at a time without posting when I can’t live up to the occasional worthwhile post. I have found myself gravitating towards reviews as it’s substantial without requiring me to ponder too much during the day. Heaven forbid I have to THINK!

  3. Kathy November 30, 2007 at 1:24 pm #

    I’ll admit, I try to post something every day since I’m the type of person who gives up if she misses too many days in a row. I’m always over-critical of what I post: is it good enough? Is it smart enough? I went into NaNoBloPo with the idea of upping the quality, not quantity. Did I succeed? I don’t know.

  4. Judy November 30, 2007 at 1:47 pm #

    You know, I see the point, but everyone has their blog/journal/whatever for different reasons. Some want to contribute something, have a wide readership, some want to keep in touch with family and don’t care if anyone else reads ever, some just do it for themselves alone. And all are valid. I don’t know, do we need disclaimers as to what the purpose of our blog is? I’ve never filled out my profile, because I’m really bad with those things, but maybe I should so it’s obvious my reasons are different than others.

    And memes don’t hurt, so why not, right? Eh … I don’t care.

  5. alimum November 30, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    I found the requirement of blogging every day to be somewhat liberating. I mean, yes, there were days when I just posted videos of a favorite scene from West Wing or resorted to memes, but there were other days where the requirement to write made me write something I wouldn’t have written otherwise. And I found myself viewing some things through the prism of the blog (or rather, through the prism of “can I write about this on my blog?”). There were days when I posted a lot and other days when I just posted once. Hopefully I was entertaining enough of the time to make up for the silly meme days.

  6. thordora November 30, 2007 at 7:10 pm #

    I’m being a bit of an elitist prick on this post. Disregard and carry on. Mostly.

    My point of “what IS the point” is really the one I wanted to write about, but I got a little carried away with an asschewing at work today. 😦

  7. cerebralmum November 30, 2007 at 7:28 pm #

    Eh. I’m a snob too. For people who just post drivel on their blogs, (and I mean drivel, things they don’t even care about – not some hierarchical concept of “quality”) I don’t understand why they bother. They just seem like fashion victims to me.

    I avoid them. For people who “really” blog (and yes, that’s a subjective value judgement), I can see NaBloPoMo as a challenge to reboot their commitment but mostly it seems like just another bandwagon to jump on.

    I’m sorry I now have to disregard this. 🙂 I guess I’m out here all alone now in the Land of Elitist-Prickdom.

  8. thordora November 30, 2007 at 7:36 pm #

    Don’t worry. There are about 6000 other things I’m judgemental about, shortlisted to Stephen King novels, Mariah Carey et al, crappy tattoos, Jim Carrey comedy or bowling.

    I’m still out there in prickdom. Don’t you worry.

  9. cerebralmum December 1, 2007 at 12:51 am #

    Omigod, we’re twins!

  10. Gwen December 1, 2007 at 8:29 am #

    I find your “elitist prick-dom” fascinating, T. I agree that many blogs are shit, and that even worse, many “popular” blogs are shit. Which is why I ignore them. I mean, you can’t really trust “popular” opinion. Look what it’s given us: The Saw movies, Full House and George Bush.

  11. thordora December 1, 2007 at 9:35 am #

    Full House! GAK!

  12. bine December 2, 2007 at 2:49 pm #

    i think i posted five or six memes in november, and i really needed those to keep me going on the days where i felt too aimless to think for myself. i really just wanted to know if i could do it, bacause i usually wrote two or three posts per month the last couple of months. i think i came up with a few interesting posts, too, so i think this month was good for me. i also found out it’s fun just to blog about what crosses my way on a regular day. i might post a little more in the future, but i don’t think my posts make the world go round.
    (and being a snob is fun, i know. i’m a huge snob about a lot of things.)

  13. Melissa December 2, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    NaBlo was a good exercise for me because I’m a newbie. I had just started my blog on 10/22. I’ve gotten a chance to see a ton of blogs, good bad, and ugly. I’ve gotten great advice and the momentum to keep going. I’m not sure what I want my blog to evolve into, but now I have a good idea of what I DON’T want it to be. And having to post drivel on a few days was good for that.

    And you aren’t a prick. Just honest. I happen to agree with you.

Leave a Reply

