Tagged…Music Makes the People Make Music

29 Nov

Why is it that No Post Day for Gabe means work for everyone else? How typically male is that?

 Anyway, I’ve been tagged:

Assignment: Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it gives you an idea for a story, script or just puts you into a better frame of mind AND/OR peek into the lyrics and find a verse that sums up the theme of whatever project it is you’re working on. If possible, post a video of the song to convey to readers the full context of the song and the mood it puts you into. Finally, send the assignment to five other writers to do as well..

heh.

Asking me to select ONE song is like asking the Pope to pick just ONE Cardinal. In freaking possible.

See, I listen to music in very clear ways. Certain music is for walking, like Holy Fuck, Amon Tobin, Killing Joke or Made out of Babies. Some music is good for bus rides, like The Postal Service, Leonard Cohen, 16 Horsepower. Some again, is good for singing loudly and annoying children, fathers and husbands, like Regina Spektor, Laura Viers, Tori Amos or Sarah Slean. Some is good in the background during dinner, like Kronos Quartet, Crash Worship, Ruth Brown. Some is just plain awesome while crunching numbers and making Excel bow down in submission, like Converge, Horse the Band, Skinny Puppy, Jesus Lizard.

My point with all the name dropping is that aside from generally despising popular music (as in anything produced with an autotune because the chick cannot sing) I listen to a LOT of different music, and it all fits into different points in my day. I have around 70 albums at work and I’m bored with most of it. I need lots of different and new things frequently. And they have to be things that don’t suck. Which can be hard.

Unlike Mogo, I prefer music that invokes some sort of emotional response. He listens to music differently than I, and can listen, and interpret ambient works while on the bus. I can’t do that, but I can sing a song almost verbatim after 3 listens. (It’s a broadly useless talent). I need it to mean something, anything. Happy sad or mad, it must make me feel.

If I had to pick songs that help me write-PJ Harvey’s new album has been a huge inspiration in the novel I’ve been working at and hit a wall with.This song in particular, “The Piano”, really helps me get into the “zone” for Sus, the main character in my current novel, who is dead, but well, no one can hear her, you know, the usual dead stuff. She mours her family as they mourn her.

I’ve talked about this Postal Service song before, but it usually makes my brain jump around and think all happy and dream of possibility and want to write. Kinda like the end of The Breakfast Club-you know, that happy/sad beginnings/ending deal.

And one of my all time favorite banks, disgustingly prolific, The Legendary Pink Dots. I’m not always a huge fan of the newer stuff, but the older songs, ah….such stories unto themselves.

Now apparently, I need to tag 5 of y’all.

Eden

Kimberly

Venessa

Kathy

Jennifer

6 Responses to “Tagged…Music Makes the People Make Music”

  1. Gabriel... November 30, 2007 at 12:44 am #

    “Why is it that No Post Day… means work for everyone else?”

    That’s the pure beauty of Anita Marie’s addition to the blogging universe, the No Post Day… in fact I’m not even writing this response, I’m playing Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas while dictating this over the phone to what I assume is a person of legal age living in Nicaragua. Actually I’m thinking I’m just going to totally outsource No Post Days from now on. Ah… No Post Day, truly You are Bliss.

  2. Mogo November 30, 2007 at 3:26 am #

    “Unlike Mogo, I prefer music that invokes some sort of emotional response.”

    I take exception to this. I’ve been swinging more and more that way lately. adrenalin is an emotion too you know 🙂

    “He listens to music differently than I, and can listen, and interpret ambient works while on the bus.”

    not really. I’ve been getting away from the dissection. I like brain-food AND an emotional response of some sort… sometimes they are separate entities, but my favorite music lately gives me both at the same time…

    Behold… The Arctopus!!

    that Holy Fuck record is really good too. it makes me want to fuck. that’s an emotional response, right? 😛

  3. nursemyra November 30, 2007 at 5:27 am #

    Amon Tobin, Leonard Cohen, Regina Spektor, PJ Harvey……

    you’ve got great taste

  4. radical mama November 30, 2007 at 10:17 am #

    Oh, the pressure.

    Stupid youtube won’t let me add me blog. I’ll work on it.

  5. thordora November 30, 2007 at 10:26 am #

    weirdness.

    And ok dear, you’ve progressed in your listening. that still doesn’t explain some of the hell that comes out of those speakers some days.

    And yes. Holy Fuck does live up to their name. But that’s not really an emotional response now is it?

  6. Kathy November 30, 2007 at 1:29 pm #

    Thanks for the tag. I’m not too much of a meme’er, but this looks like fun. I don’t listen to music when I write. It tends to mess up my “ear,” but I do take inspiration from music.

Leave a Reply

