Well….well well well

22 Nov

It being Thanksgiving and all (and I AM giving thanks to the fact that ALL of my american coworkers have the day off and I can split out early), I should show you what someone decided to award me with.

 Nyjlm at So Love is Hard and Love is Tough gave me this:

roar.jpg

And apparently, there are rules: I need to list three things that I feel make writing powerful, and then hand this puppy off to 5 other people.

Writing for me is a powerful thing I’ve always wanted to do-however, I don’t have the discipline to do it professionally. I had begun an Honours Arts degree splitting my major between english and history, but I dropped out, something I regret in part, but mostly understand as not being right for that point in my life. I grew up knowing I’d have a degree from a university, and someday, I will have it, even if I’m 80. I yearn to learn baby.

In the writers I admire, I look for many things. A keen eye for the smaller details, compassion towards the characters they write about, the ability to draw in a larger context to their smaller world. I need writers to speak to me, on that subtle almost molecular level that whispers “I know you” as you lay in bed, reading by the small light. I want writers to amuse me, make me cry, trigger some type of response.

Writers I like are sincere, they are disturbingly candid about their lives and they believe-they believe in the inherent good in all of us, and in themselves.

So….5 people whose writing I admire:

  1. Gabriel-not only has he given me some great advice regarding my recovery from bipolar, but he’s an incredible writer, wide open about his own recovery, and always willing to help others. He believes we can all be better, and he does what he can to help. He makes me cry and laugh, sometimes both at once.

  2. Kate: Not only is she local, but she’s incredible both at writing and photography. The glimmers of her life, good and bad, and her perspective on them through her words and through pictures, is incredible. She has a grace and wit I don’t think I could have in her circumstances.

  3. Marcela: In posts written mostly for her children, we get a picture of a life lived by someone equally frightened and brave, looking forward while living today. It’s refreshing, it’s tear jerking, and it’s funny.

  4. Mad Hatter: She gives me perspective, makes me giggle, makes me think. As any good Canadian should.

  5. Crib Chronicles: Always, always featherlight and heavy, all at once. I don’t know how she does it.

Would you look at that. 4 of 5 are Canadian. Man we rock.

8 Responses to “Well….well well well”

  1. Bon November 22, 2007 at 10:56 am #

    Thor, thank you.

    thank you much. the writing compliments puff up my head and make me proud…which i kinda needed today. 😉

    and not only are 4 out of 5 of us Canadian, but 3 of us are Maritimers. we need to do that BlogHer East this summer

    and i am off to acquaint myself with Gabriel and Marcela.

  2. Hannah November 22, 2007 at 11:04 am #

    Congrats, and well deserved.

    I sometimes think blogland is like one big Maritime kitchen party… we all pull up a chair and stay awhile, and offer to help clean up before we go home.

  3. thordora November 22, 2007 at 11:08 am #

    I think we do need to have a little Maritime get together-I’m totally down with offering my giant deck and pool as the place for it-there’s a nature trail behind the house, plenty to do before we all get totally drunk, which is likely what would happen.

    But I do think we need to seriously plan for something next summer. There’s so many of us within 2 hours of each other!

  4. sweetsalty kate November 22, 2007 at 8:17 pm #

    Yes! count me in. I’ll bring the tofu nut balls. heh.

    Thank you thor, it’s an honour. And like bon I’ve got some acquianting to do…

  5. Mad Hatter November 22, 2007 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh and I soooo in for this get together. Let’s make it happen.

    And thank you Thor. I sure appreciate it and the love comes right back at you.

  6. marcelarhodus November 22, 2007 at 11:42 pm #

    I’m very honored. Really.

    like Wayne would say “we’re not worthy” (bowing from across the world)

    Thank you very much.

    and you more than deserve the honor, your words are powerful indeed.

  7. marcelarhodus November 22, 2007 at 11:46 pm #

    I’m not sure if Bremerton, WA is within two hours of you guys, but if you do it next summer, can I come too???

  8. Gabriel... November 23, 2007 at 4:14 am #

    Apples, baby, the solution lies in apples*… thanks for this, and congratulations on your own award. I guess I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all the little people I had to step on to get this far… like my little brothers and Jesus.

    *and fake crab meat.

Leave a Reply

