Why I love Helena Bonham Carter

18 Nov

Aside from the fact that she’s gorgeous, brilliant, AND married to freaking Tim Burton.

Carter, who’s eight months expecting with Tim Burton‘s baby, told blackbookmag.com, “People – particularly men – saying with surprise, ‘You’re still drinking caffeine?’ as if I’m performing a criminal act on my unborn as I tuck into my treasured one-a-day cup of tea/coffee. Yeah. You try nine months of gestation and self-abnegation before you start censoring my diet. Your mother was probably on vodka, and do you have three heads?”

Why are people so bloody interested in OTHER PEOPLE’S pregnancies these days? I mean really….

10 Responses to “Why I love Helena Bonham Carter”

  1. grandmamaryjoan November 18, 2007 at 9:09 pm #

    Bravo Helena. This obsession with what a pregnant woman is doing wrong has definitely gotten much worse since I had my fourth girl 25 years ago. There seems to be at least 5 dozen more rules to observe.

  2. cerebralmum November 18, 2007 at 10:14 pm #

    Now I love her even more.

  3. N November 18, 2007 at 11:22 pm #

    WOOHOOO !!! Fight the power !!! Your body, your baby, your choices! 🙂

  4. mercurial scribe November 19, 2007 at 12:39 am #

    OMG, I love her even more! I’m currently 4.5 months pregnant and everyone feels the need to weigh in… even strangers.

  5. charlotteotter November 19, 2007 at 4:17 am #

    I love Helena too. She’s great. Apparently she and Tim live in adjoining houses, which is my utter marital dream – his ‘n hers houses!

  6. daisybones November 19, 2007 at 5:41 am #

    Agreed; she is brilliant:)

    OMG I drank wine!!! a few times when I was pregnant. Call the Inquistitors.

  7. marcelarhodus November 19, 2007 at 5:51 am #

    it”s that compulsion our society suffers from to find something to point out “I’m better than you”… so sick…
    good for her!
    I never gave up coffee, too much to ask… actually asking to give up coffee is short of blasphemy 🙂

  8. thordora November 19, 2007 at 7:44 am #

    I cut down, but I certainly didn’t abstain. Plus, if people would take the time to read more than a bloody headline, they’d learn that small amounts aren’t anything to worry about.

    But oh, that would be effort, and effort is bad!

  9. Eden November 20, 2007 at 1:22 am #

    Her first pregnancy coincided w/ mine. It was so cool.

  10. thordora November 20, 2007 at 7:41 am #

    Which means it would have coincided with my first one as well…squee!

Leave a Reply

