“Life is tough, but, it’s tougher if you are stupid”

10 Nov

The holidays are upon us.

In Wal-mart the other day, while paying, I stopped, cocked my head and asked “Is that CHRISTMAS MUSIC?!?!”

“Yes.” the woman deadpanned. “They turned it on November 1.”

I told her I was sorry.

Starbucks is covered in red and pass the cheer (and gingerbread latte’s, so not all is lost!)

And my personal favorite of the season, the idiot shopper. How on earth people who can’t seem to navigate a crowd in a mall manage to drive a vehicle through the streets is beyond me.

They stop. They start, they put their hands to their mouths and mutter “I thought it was over here dear, do you remember?” They stare blankly at their shopping partners who invariably are male, and in pain at the thought of staying in the mall. But they have that blank look I’ve come to associate with “yes dear, wish I was at home doing…well, anything other than this.”

They have grand chats in the middle of the hallways, sprawling across the area like it’s an orgy, yattering and laughing, buggies empty but for their coats as people with children and/or packages struggle. They meander down the main aisles of the grocery store.

I’m trying to find the Christmas spirit this year. I am completely vacant of it. I have no desire to buy any presents, and don’t even know of much like I want. (Is it weird to ask for a rowing machine or exercise bike from my inlaws? It seems weird. No, taking my MIL up on her offer to subsidize my tattoo would have been weird) Walking into the local mall where everything is already gussied up for the season AND people are already acting in the idiotic ways that usually take a few more weeks has me wondering if I’ll find the spirit at all.

Stupid mall.

9 Responses to ““Life is tough, but, it’s tougher if you are stupid””

  1. cat November 10, 2007 at 10:04 pm #

    They should have the decency to wait until after Thanksgiving for christ’s sake. Speaking of Christ… I bet he’d be tossing people’s asses about the Mall (temple) if he were about nowadays or real for that matter.

    But that’s an argument for another day.

  2. N November 10, 2007 at 10:14 pm #

    I know. the music has begun. It’s sad.

  3. Mogo November 10, 2007 at 10:16 pm #

    if they waited til after Canadian thanksgiving it would have started a month ago. thankfully they at least wait longer than that…

  4. nursemyra November 11, 2007 at 4:08 am #

    gingerbread lattes ?

    yummmm

  5. marcelarhodus November 11, 2007 at 5:42 am #

    I’m with you on the lattes…

    and I’m with you as well in hating the Xmas shopping season. it’s madness!
    people don’t have in their minds anymore what the season is supposed to be, a time of peace, joy, reflexion… being with family and friends… now it’s all about buying.

    I don’t like buying things during Xmas season, it’s like you’re begging to shop among the crowds instead of actually paying for things.

    with my husband we don’t exchange presents, at least not material ones… Last Xmas I gave him a tiny tin box, when he opened it it had some petals in it, to represent kisses that he can open when he’s away from us. I spent $0 as I had it at home… I got my push present last Xmas, so that was enough for the whole year.

    this year, I’m giving him home gift certificates, like for a special meal, t.v. time uninterrupted and things like that. I don’t expect anything from him.

    I don’t think it’s bad to ask for the exercise machine from your in-laws, if they want to give you something, better be something you want…besides there is no harm in asking, they might give it to you or might not, but nothing was lost asking…

  6. Judy November 11, 2007 at 11:29 am #

    Ugh. I started seeing, and hearing, Christmas here before Halloween was over. It disgusts me, and complete turns me off the “spirit.” I’d bet I spend and do less for the holidays the earlier they start putting the stuff out.

    And my mom has already sent a dozen boxes with gifts for the boys. We’d like to keep it to one big gift, but that won’t work with her around. *sigh*

    I think the exercise machine is a great idea, but if the in-laws are anything like what I have experienced, even with my own mother, they won’t get it. I told my mom I wanted a treadmill, and she thought I was nuts. “It’s too expensive.” But she’ll spend twice as much money on a bunch of little crap we’ll never use.

  7. maggie November 11, 2007 at 11:02 pm #

    Malls are a good reason to shop on-line. A very good reason.

  8. Granny November 12, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    Yep, it started before Halloween here and they skip merrily past our Thanksgiving (4th Thursday of November) completely. By Christmas, the Easter Bunny will have appeared.

    I am one of those people who stops in mid step to try to remember why I came into the store in the first place. I am not one who engages in conversation while blocking the entire aisle. One out of two isn’t bad.

  9. Eden November 13, 2007 at 12:08 am #

    This year you can get a sugar-free gingerbread latte.

    /public service announcement

Leave a Reply

