In the woods

7 Nov

I run towards you, seeking blindly with my hands. I scatter the things across the desk, brushes, notes, stare in the mirror briefly. I look not like myself. I am haunted, and hollow.

This room is closing in-I cannot breathe, I cannot swim from it, and all I can hear is your screaming over and over in my ears, broken screams, fear manifest. I ache to reach you, yet the door won’t open.

I find myself outside, on a bus, trying to board another. The door closes on the face of another woman, a woman who screams. I try to tell someone, she laughs. How could I be scared? He says he didn’t do anything! She gives me that indulgent look you give when you don’t believe someone yet can’t be bothered to argue. I move off the bus.

Then I see you. Or rather, someone shows me a picture, just your bloody legs next to the cold face of a friend in shock. I must find you. The blood doesn’t touch your blue shoes.

I find you, somehow, stumbling over you. Your eyes are open, your face dappled in your blood. You mouth is partly open, your clothing strewn about. I’ve lost you.

I wake up.

2 Responses to “In the woods”

  1. nursemyra November 8, 2007 at 6:17 am #

    wow

  2. thordora November 8, 2007 at 7:43 am #

    yeah…time to up the lithium.

Leave a Reply

