“I get a fine warm feeling when I’m doing well, but that pleasure is pretty much negated by the pain of getting started each day. Let’s face it, writing is hell.”

6 Nov

So I got my NaNoWriMo off to a thudding start last night with 3000 words down. Then it hit me.

Holy shitballs, I need to write this EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. to make it.

Eep.

I like my character. She’s coming naturally to me, and her life is appearing out of the air, wrapping itself around me. The trouble is, I know I’ll want to go in many different directions with her, and I can’t. So part of tonight’s time will be spent choosing her path, and her odds.

I think I love her already though. She’s decided to remain nameless for now.

I’ve decided no looking back-I’ll just write and write and write until my fingers bleed. Then likely ignore it in December and come back to it in January to edit it out. Not that I expect to do much with it. I just want to actually hit the word count, and finish what I want to say. Whatever that is.

I’m so terrible at ends. I have one slithering around in my head though.

Those of you foolish enough to do this as well, how fares it?

One Response to ““I get a fine warm feeling when I’m doing well, but that pleasure is pretty much negated by the pain of getting started each day. Let’s face it, writing is hell.””

  1. FancyMomma November 6, 2007 at 10:01 am #

    I think I have just over 2500 words. I am positive I will not finish in November (especially since we will be at Disney World the last week, and I will not be writing there, at all!), but am glad I started and will be done when I am done!!!

    Good Luck!!!

Leave a Reply

