Color my kitchen

30 Oct



Kitchen

Originally uploaded by thordora

So I’m trying to decide on a color to paint the kitchen. It’s currently white, or rather, the grey toned white you get when you have children. So I’ve been scouting for colors.

The problem is that as much as I like my cabinets, the counter top is literally one of the ugliest things I’ve ever seen. (Really it is. It’s like it isn’t any one color, but rather a bunch of colors. Blech)

So help me dear friends and ninjas. The color on the wall is called “Aura”. What say you? Mogo said NO. I say “I dunno”

I’m real helpful aren’t I.

13 Responses to “Color my kitchen”

  1. Kelly O October 30, 2007 at 5:10 pm #

    It’s tough to coordinate with a muted gray-green. I’d go with a red you really like, but then I’m a bit fast and loose when it comes to wall colors.

  2. bine October 30, 2007 at 5:27 pm #

    are those cabinets beech wood? i think i would choose something less lemony … maybe somewhere between salmon and terracotta. can you afford a new counter top? because i don’t think you’ll be happy with the color of your wall as long as you hate your counter top.

    we had the same idea. with november coming in we started thinking about getting some “permanent sun” into our kitchen by painting one wall (the only one that gets some sun, but only from late spring to early autumn) a very bright yellow. when i saw the paint in the bucket i didn’t feel so sure about it anymore. we’ll see.

  3. Jennifer October 30, 2007 at 5:39 pm #

    Go brighter yellow! I love yellow in my kitchen.

    I believe its called lemon meringue. :p

    its really freaking yellow.

  4. Nat October 30, 2007 at 7:17 pm #

    I forget the exact color of your counter top. But you need to take one of those colors and use that (or a shade variation of it). 🙂

  5. thordora October 30, 2007 at 7:26 pm #

    Therein lies the issue. That countertop is 50 shades of BLECH. It’s all these dark colors, and I don’t want to use a dark color since there is a fair bit of shadow from the cabinets. I was trying to find a complimentary green shade to play off the counter top, but “Aura” ended up more yellow than green.

    I want a warm color, not too dark, and not too candy floss. And I’m trying to avoid too much yellow since one of our places in Toronto was VERY yellow (to me) and I don’t know if I can handle that in the kitchen again.

    And I can’t afford to replace the countertop, which while ugly, is in great shape.

    sigh. AND I can’t find any of those handy little “upload your picture” things so I can place to color ON the picture…

    Nat, come over with paint chips. You know I’m terrible with decisions…

  6. thordora October 30, 2007 at 7:30 pm #

    and WOW Kelly. THat’s some color.

  7. Eden October 30, 2007 at 10:38 pm #

    I’m a little meh on this. You have two options w/ the counter: work with or against. To work against, you’ll need something warm like orange or red. To work with, a creamy yellow or maybe a turquoise. I can tell you that orange is fantastic in a kitchen. Don’t do blue. Blue is bad for kitchens (but you can get away with a greeny-blue); it mutes the appetite and make food unappealing. Wait, maybe that’s what I should do in my kitchen…

  8. marcelarhodus October 31, 2007 at 6:55 am #

    Id go with a creamy yellow too…
    can’t tell much from the picture, but is the countertop somewhere around green???

  9. karrie October 31, 2007 at 6:58 am #

    I like yellow kitchens. I think the olor you have looks ok, but if Mogo has to live with it, then hmm…..

  10. Marcy October 31, 2007 at 8:49 am #

    I think orange or red is too contrasty with the countertop. I like the color pictured, and I could see a less saturated, creamier yellow too. Have you considered white / yellow stripes? Not hard to do with painter’s tape.

  11. Mad Hatter October 31, 2007 at 11:43 am #

    We live in a crayon box. The more colour the better. I say go with the yellow.

  12. charlotteotter October 31, 2007 at 1:58 pm #

    I like the yellow too. I’m sorry I didn’t stop to say so, but I loved that post about your husband.

    Good luck for Nablo tomorrow!

  13. Barfly October 31, 2007 at 6:55 pm #

    I have, without hesitation, the ugliest dark green carpet in almost every room. The kitchen and bathroom have black floors; kitchen counters and cupboards are all grey.

    Every room, door, and molding is painted white. Nothing to argue about there, except when I come home late at night and turn on the light after too many tequila shots.

    I do like the yellow in the picture. Even more if your kitchen has a window.

Leave a Reply

