Lithium, One Week In

20 Oct

So we’re about a week in with the Lithium. The verdict so far.

Blessed, sweet relief.

I haven’t felt this normal in a long time. Not manic, not flailing depressed or full of anger, but just normal. Calm. Mellow. Not particularly happy, but not unhappy.

It’s very odd to feel so very copacetic.

I get tremors every so often I’ve noticed, but my appetite is down to what I remember as being normal if not a little less. I’m not craving crappy food as much. I’m willing to experiment with food, as evidenced by my use of kale last week and the spaghetti squash sitting on my counter for dinner tonight.

My children are still highly annoying however. I’ve still been reacting a little more forcefully to them than I’d like, but I think that has more to do with an unfulfilled desire to be writing than anything. That’s right-I actually have the craving to write. It’s so foreign a feeling now, but so welcome. I want to lock myself away in a room for hours just to get some of the ideas down somewhere. But who has the time with small children? I guess I’ll just have to make it.

I’m not digging the sudden surprise bum pukes however, which come violently out of nowhere. Sitting through an hour conference call whilst holding that it and feeling like death is not my idea of a good time.

I’ve been sleeping good, very vivid dreams-as in, I was doing crossword puzzles with someone in my dream, and I woke up remembering the actual words. I’d be sleeping better if the futon mattress wasn’t trying to kill me. My back hurts so bad it’s not even funny.

All in all, I’m not displeased. Funny, considering how scared I was of this drug in the first place.

11 Responses to “Lithium, One Week In”

  1. sweetsalty kate October 20, 2007 at 8:17 pm #

    This sounds promising.. glad to hear it. Even the kale. Hint: garlic. Lots, lots, lots of garlic. That’s some quality grit for your gizzard!

    I remember the day we defected from futonland – Justin bought a boxspring and mattress off the back of a truck.. brand new for $300, probably stolen from a warehouse. Yay, thievery! What a difference.

  2. Gabriel... October 20, 2007 at 8:45 pm #

    Go to the pharmacy and find the Imodium A-D for the diarrhea. You’ve also got to replenish the fluids, they should have specialized liquids (basically water) with electrolytes, sodium, and potassium — they’re usually in the baby section. Gatorade is a poor substitute, but you can find it everywhere. This may not make any sense but you need those things, including regular salt (don’t be stingy with the shaker on the spaghetti squash), so your body doesn’t go toxic. Diarrhea at this point is common, but it can suck (push) all the things out of your system which your system need for the Lithium to work. It’ll also push the Lithium out…

    That “calm” is normal as well. It’s a very weird experience at first. Especially if you’re moving from anti-depressents… Lithium works as a mood stabilizer, which means it just caps your manics and puts a line for your depressions. It took a little while but eventually I was able to actually watch my depressions… this may not make sense but I was able to be depressed and recognize the point where I ‘normally’ would have dropped like a stone into a deep depression, but it stalled. It was very weird the first few times. Even weirder was reaching a point where I realized I was getting depressed without being suicidal. That really fucked with my head. I really, really, really hope the Lithium works for you Thor… just make sure to put back in what’s shooting out.

  3. misspudding October 20, 2007 at 11:07 pm #

    Take a good multi.

    I’m very glad you’re experiencing something positive. I hope it works.

  4. Marcy October 21, 2007 at 8:16 am #

    This sounds great! And bum puke… what a lovely term.

  5. Jennifer October 22, 2007 at 1:18 am #

    Dude. I’m so confused. Lithium should always be the first choice of Doctors as it tends to be the drug that works.

  6. radical mama October 22, 2007 at 9:38 am #

    Awesome. I hope you can find some quiet time to do that writing. 🙂

  7. bine October 22, 2007 at 10:07 am #

    that sounds sooo good … i’m really relieved to hear it.

  8. thordora October 22, 2007 at 11:42 am #

    Taking a multi, and Omega’s as well (can’t hurt, right?)

    I feel SOOOOO much better. It’s so NICE!

  9. Nat October 22, 2007 at 6:52 pm #

    Mmmmmmm Spaghetti squash…. *drool* I like to precook it, then sautee it with frozen peas, asparagus, garlic and parmesan cheese. DELICIOUS….. (Now I’m hungry. Lovely. lol)

  10. Heather October 23, 2007 at 7:33 pm #

    Oh, I am so, so, so, so happy for you!

    I always wonder why they want people to muck around with all the newfangled drugs when there are simpler things that work. Oh yeah, drug company kickbacks.

  11. Jason Dufair November 2, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    Thor, I’m really happy this is working for you. It did wonders for Anna’s dad. I was glad when I heard you were going to try it based on my experience with him. Sorry about the shits. Really enjoyed your newer post about Mogo too!

Leave a Reply

