Things currently irritating me

10 Oct
  • Loud french people in small enclosed areas. Madame, it’s a bus. I cannot escape you. The driver, your trainee, is almost right next to you. Your animated flailing about your pregnancy (yes, we know, 3 months along and the older one wants a sister!) isn’t inspiring much trust in your “training”. And my eardrums? They prefer an intact state as opposed to being blown out by your incessant yattering at a decibel range nearing one you’d find at the airport.
  • Photography. I know I’m not the only one annoyed as shit with this little trend. I have a camera. I can take a half decent picture. (As in-point and shoot without making a stupid mistake like pointing it into the sun) I am NOT a photographer! I am not under any delusions that I create photography! I take pictures. Would I like to have a real nice camera and some training? Uh, yeah. Duh. But there is a VAST distance between a picture and a piece of photography. Why is that so hard to see? And I swear to crap, one more unframed, boring, no light shot of a bridge or a soft diffused shot of some ugly dude hugging a tree and I might just crap out a puppy.
  • Newark Liberty Airport. Would it KILL YOU to have some freaking signage when you get off the plane? I almost missed my flight because I had absolutely no idea where I was going, and when someone finally did tell me, it was the line from hell at customs. SIGNS. Oh, and more deodorant pucks in the bathrooms. The entire places smelled like wee.
  • Plus size models who are a size 8. Actually, that doesn’t irritate me so much as make me collapse into giggles. If this chick is “Plus Size”, I must be dead. What a fucking joke that is. And frankly, insulting to those of us who a healthy and normal size is a 14/16. Sick, and sad.
11 Responses to “Things currently irritating me”

  1. meredith October 10, 2007 at 8:56 pm #

    HA HA HA HA HA HA! I love the photography one! I am always laughing about how everyone who spends upwards of $500 on a camera instantly becomes the next Annie Leibovitz, WTF?

    Don’t get me started on the Plus Sized models. But you know, if in real life ‘average’ was a size 2, an 8 would be plus, no?

  2. Kimberly October 10, 2007 at 8:57 pm #

    Loud people on buses suck. Drivers most of all.

    It’s not photography, it’s dooceography.

    Where does it say she’s a plus sized 8? I missed that part.

    (thanks for fixing the blogroll. I’m slowing doing mine. But blogrolling from scratch? boooooring.)

  3. thordora October 10, 2007 at 9:10 pm #

    Kim-I forgot to add that link-http://the-f-word.org/blog/?p=194

    and I really should credit MY original source: http://kateharding.net/2007/10/09/quick-hit-normal-is-the-new-plus/

    and between the two of you, I just had a good giggle. 🙂

  4. Caitlin October 10, 2007 at 10:32 pm #

    It’s not just the airport, it’s all of Newark that smells. Paul woke up as we were driving through Sunday night and thought he had a dirty diaper. We stopped at the next service area and it turns out it was just Newark.

  5. Cori October 11, 2007 at 9:04 am #

    I have a hard time with loud people, in general. This made for an interesting start to my relationship with my SIL, haha! I really can’t stand it when all of those self-important, bratty, obnoxious students from any of the 100s of local universities starts jabbering away on their cell phones while on the T in a voice better suited for theater in the round. I usually have my kids with me, they usually drop the F bomb. Fun for all!

    LOL about the photography thing! So true!

  6. Hannah October 11, 2007 at 9:43 am #

    Ah yes, our daycare has photo day every year and it is sheer, sheer bloody hell. Especially since the parents have to hang around until the younger kids get their pictures taken. Last year the “photog” was supposed to start at 730 so the parents could get to work on time. Instead he started at nearly 830 because he spent an hour fiddling with the backdrop and barking instructions at his young, nubile assistant who couldn’t locate a lens filter if it was shoved up her (admittedly tight & perky) ass.

  7. bine October 11, 2007 at 10:02 am #

    this is terrible – i am always annoyed by loud people on buses or at restaurants but at the same time i have a loud voice that seems to carry very good (several people have told me i should sing in a gospel choir, doesn’t that tell it all?) and i have to keep constantly reminding myself to keep it down. it can be quite embarrassing. why those people never seem to be embarrassed is beyond me.

  8. Mommy's Getaway (Tam P) October 11, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    I found you from Spaghetti Harvest (love that writing) and now, I am definitely a fan of yours!

    “…one more unframed, boring, no light shot of a bridge or a soft diffused shot of some ugly dude hugging a tree and I might just crap out a puppy.” OMG! I nearly peed my pants laughing…

    Until I realized that I might have one of those shots…HA. Just kidding.

    But you might be able to make money on crapping out puppies…especially if they are purebreds. LMAO!

  9. Dragon October 12, 2007 at 3:35 am #

    Stupid size 8 plus size models. WTF. I mean really. I’ve been ranting at my mom on this for days. Oh, and why the heck can’t fat people ever find clothes that actually look nice? all the pants come up to your chin and are ankle biters, and all the shirts look like moo moos. stupid fashion industry… how i hate thee.

  10. thordora October 12, 2007 at 2:39 pm #

    Nothing wrong with people taking pictures of bridges or trees or the sky-but don’t call it “My photography” and get all pompous about it and start wearing a cravat. A picture is a picture. Jeez..

  11. Brooke January 3, 2008 at 1:16 am #

    Be my friend. Please. I know it sounds creepy, but you really should be my friend. You’ve done it.

Leave a Reply

