Apparently….

10 Oct

the magic side effect to get your meds changed is diarrhea.

Go figure. Mentions of the twitches, the hair loss, the edema, the weight gain, none of this caused a blink. Mentioning I wanted to switch off the Epival AND had the shits seemed to work though.

So, the new drug is…..

12 Responses to “Apparently….”

  1. Jen October 10, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    I hope it helps, Thor. I can’t believe I still haven’t sent you that fucking box yet. I’m going to put it under my damn pillow tonight so that I remember at a time when the freaking mailing place is open.

  2. thordora October 10, 2007 at 7:54 pm #

    You’re pregnant. You’re allowed.

    I started working on the blankie last week. πŸ™‚

  3. Gabriel... October 10, 2007 at 11:49 pm #

    …in the beginning diarrhea is a ‘definite possibility’ while you’re sucking the salt pills. I’ve been on 2100mgs/day for three years. What you’re trying to avoid is called “Lithium Toxicity”, and it hits hard when you’re dehydrated. If your doctor didn’t talk about it, Google it… and, really-really-seriously, drink lots of water. The more dehydrated you get the more likely the nastier side effects will pop up. I’ve found less than three Litres a day and I start feeling pretty messed up. There’s also the hand tremors, occasional loss of coordination and other fun stuff… welcome to the Salted side.

  4. Freya October 11, 2007 at 2:11 am #

    Sigh, I must agree with Gabriel. The most difficult part for me is handling my obsession with working out…because I then have to drink twice as much of a normal intake…which is doubled already from the lith. Most of the time I enjoy ice cold water but every so often it tastes metallic so I’m stuck using powders and such just to flavor it and get it down. Wee, welcome to being a lith head hehe. I actually prefer this to the other not-so-fun options.

    I only get the tremors if I get really dehydrated or when I start the lithium up after a “huh, what medicine” period. Oh, and the lack of memory…goodness, mine is shot. I’m only 30, so I at least try to blame it on the lithium. πŸ™‚

    Evanescence has an amazing song called Lithium…haunting, really.

  5. misspudding October 11, 2007 at 2:31 am #

    Oh man, I’m actually really happy for you. Keeping the fingers crossed hoping it works…

    Keep this in mind: lithium was, for a long time, not patentable. Therefore, it is much the wonder drug for many folks, but big pharma couldn’t make much off of it.

    Makes you feel good, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

  6. misspudding October 11, 2007 at 2:42 am #

    Oh man, you so have to check this out:

    http://www.jacn.org/cgi/content/full/21/1/14#F4

    It’s a little wordy but I think you, and Freya and Gabriel might enjoy!

  7. Gabriel... October 11, 2007 at 3:19 am #

    I had no idea it was that common… I knew, of course, it was natually occurring but the fact it’s in water and pretty much everything we eat, that’s just weird. And the B12 link is new to me as well. They didn’t mention the 7Up connection though… I found this years ago, but the website I quoted it from has gone dead:

    “C.L. Grigg of St. Louis came up with a fruity concoction he named ‘Bib Label Lithiated Lemon-Lime Soda’. A doctor’s testimonial promised ‘an abundance of energy, enthusiasm, a clear complexion, lustrous hair and shining eyes’. Mr. [Grigg] later came up with a punchier slogan ‘You Like It, It Likes You’ and a new name: 7Up. His ancestors took the lithium out of the soft drink 50 years ago.”

    Fifty years ago Coca-Cola had a touch of cocaine and 7Up had a pinch of Lithium… man, those really were the days.

  8. thordora October 11, 2007 at 7:53 am #

    Yeah I was doing a fair bit of reading last night-I’m fairly well aqquainted with Lithium to begin with, and knew it was a common element, blah blah blah. And she warned me about the water thing, which means I should likely go buy a water filter because the city water here tastes like ass.

    The runs were from the Epival. Horrible things that drug did to my intestines.

    And I almost used the Evanescence song instead of Nirvana, until I remembered that I actually LIKE Nirvana, and not Nicklegoth.

  9. Jason Dufair October 11, 2007 at 9:50 am #

    Anna’s dad is on lithium and it’s helped his bipolar dramatically. I sincerely hope you have as much luck with it as he has, Thor.

  10. CamiKaos October 11, 2007 at 12:40 pm #

    oh not the diarrhea, anything but that…

    I hope it helps.

  11. thordora October 11, 2007 at 12:45 pm #

    Miss pudd-that’s pretty freaking cool actually.

  12. radical mama October 11, 2007 at 4:27 pm #

    Oh, I so hope it helps you soon. Hugs.

    (I expect a blanket, too, just so you know.)

Leave a Reply

