It’s official.

25 Sep

I’m old.

(and did anyone see Oprah yesterday? As much as I’m glad that it’s getting some publicity, someone coming on and saying “It doesn’t matter if you’re poor, help is out there if you want it.” seemed to be a bit bitchy. It’s hard enough to get help for mental health issues in Canada where some is free-I can’t imagine trying in the states. And frankly, when I’m sick, the slightest little thing can make me not bother trying. I love how even those who are sick with bipolar can get high and mighty when medicated. I’m looking forward to next week with Sinead O’Connor however.)

20 Responses to “It’s official.”

  1. marcelarhodus September 25, 2007 at 8:03 am #

    Happy Birthday!

    …you’re not old, just experienced 🙂

  2. bine September 25, 2007 at 8:54 am #

    happy, happy birthday. welcome to the circle of the initiated!

  3. nell September 25, 2007 at 8:59 am #

    Happy Birthday! And I second marcelarhodus’ comment – 30 is not even old!

  4. Cori September 25, 2007 at 9:05 am #

    Happy 30th!!!

  5. Judy September 25, 2007 at 9:31 am #

    Happy Birthday!!! Have a good one. And remember what Grandpa Munster (whose real name I suddenly can’t remember) once said, “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?”

  6. Kimberly September 25, 2007 at 9:57 am #

    Happy Birthday! 30 is the new 20, but waaay better. It’s 20 without all the awkward posing.

  7. radical mama September 25, 2007 at 10:25 am #

    Happy happy birthday thor! Are you doing anything fun?

  8. cherylann September 25, 2007 at 11:07 am #

    Happy Birthday… 30 is good… I’m telling you!

  9. cherylann September 25, 2007 at 11:08 am #

    Happy Birthday… 30 is good… I’m telling you!

  10. CamiKaos September 25, 2007 at 11:33 am #

    Happy 30th.

    It could be worse.

    Really, I’m rather enjoying 30.

  11. Eden September 25, 2007 at 1:31 pm #

    Happy 30th. Welcome to the club. 🙂

  12. Jen September 25, 2007 at 1:35 pm #

    Happy birthday 🙂

  13. Jennifer September 25, 2007 at 2:48 pm #

    Happy Barfday!

    I had a post that I had been working on, but work got the better of me. Damn paycheque.

    I’d like to hear your thoughts on how you would design a mental health care system, if given carte blanche. Of course, keeping it within reason, so like no million dollar payments with a private island and buff staff.

  14. thordora September 25, 2007 at 2:51 pm #

    More funding, more doctors, and no fucking referrals. I knew when I was sick, but going through the referral process fo covered help scared me frankly.

    My current doctor works at the hospital 8-12, then does office appts 1-4. Which doesn’t leave much time for actual HELP for anyone now does it.

  15. Hannah September 25, 2007 at 2:52 pm #

    Happy birthday girl, 30 looks great on you, I’ll bet.

  16. Marcy September 25, 2007 at 3:58 pm #

    Happy Birthday!

  17. Jennifer September 25, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    I blame the american health care system for our lack of doctors.

    Throwing more money at a problem that is hemorrhaging money because of “checks and balances” is insane. To give you an example, here in Alberta, the typical autistic child receives 90+k in funding a year. However every agency and service provider wants a slice of the pie, and PDD makes parents go through the “system” which leaves little funding for actual care for the kids. Imagine if I was able to take 5 kids and their funding. I could build a therapeutic home, staff it with competent staff, provide respite and training for staff and parents….its a dream. Even if they gave that 90 k directly to parents, they could quit their jobs and stay home full time, research, hire aides and therapists. No one is more motivated than the parents to help their kid.

    Anyway, back to the american system. One major problem is the sky high salaries, its damn attractive to med students and nurses coming out of universities with big debt. Glens cousins (a nurse, she married a nurse) got head hunted during their last year of university. They were offered 60K salary each PLUS having student debt paid off and a place to live in the states in exchange for two years down there. I’d probably take it as well.

    An ex-boyfriend, who is an areo space engineer (I like em smart), was sweet talked into going to texas. Money talks loud. That is the problem with socialized health care, they have to cap salaries. It sucks.

  18. Dragon September 25, 2007 at 9:35 pm #

    Happy birthday! 30 isn’t old at all. As for the thing Jennifer said about American health care taking away from Canada, I had no idea. It sucks that we do have a plethora of doctors, and there are still so many people who can’t afford to see them. I wonder, if the US had socialized medicine, would all of our doctors move to another country too?

    –Dragon

  19. Meredith September 25, 2007 at 10:01 pm #

    30? Cry me a river.

    I hope you had a great day, that the kids were happily sedated and you get some good lovin’ to make you smile.

  20. Caitlin September 26, 2007 at 6:06 am #

    Happy slightly belated birthday! Hope you had a great day and your thirties treat you as well as they have been treating my other friends :).

Leave a Reply

