Duh.

17 Sep

Researcher links gas price, obesity

Really? I hadn’t noticed.

It’s funny. I know lots of people who grumble and complain and bitch when the gas price goes up, people who could find alternate transportation but don’t, who still drive their guzzling SUV’s to work a few blocks. Or the people who insist on living outside of town, saying they can’t afford to live in town, not with the car.

Heh.

We’re a sedentary society which, to quote Over the Hedge, is slowly losing it’s ability to walk. I use public transit as much as I possibly can, walking when I have the time. I meant to buy a bike this year, and just didn’t get around to it. Exercise, and leaving the car at home, CAN come together. They aren’t mutually exclusive.

I look forward to higher gas prices in some ways. More people out of cars. Better air. Food more expensive so maybe we only buy what we need instead of the piles of food that we don’t use.

I look most forward to people ending the dependence on vehicles. There are other ways if people can get over their “I must be king! and alone in my car!” attitudes. It’s not all that hard after all.

5 Responses to “Duh.”

  1. Caitlin September 17, 2007 at 1:27 pm #

    I wish they made trunk monkeys for bikes. The only people who ever feel compelled to yell at me when I bike somewhere (with or without the trailer) are always alone in one of the huge SUVs and a few of them will intentionally swerve into the bike lane.

    I guess it doesn’t help that our Secretary of Transportation says projects for bike and walking trails “are really not transportation.”. We’re lucky that our county has great bike paths and nearly all of the new residential developments extend the multi use paths. My husband started bike commuting a couple of years ago, and lost 50lbs pretty easily. He’s now at the point where he needs something as calorie dense as a tasty dessert to maintain his current weight. (He bikes 100-200ish miles a week.) Makes me wish I had a 22 mile a day commute again.

    I will say that here at least, some people do have to live further out, even with a 15 year old car, because the housing market is still nuts. Townhouses are still around $500-600k (they peaked at around $800k for new construction) or so about 15 miles out from the District and it just gets worse as you go closer. Thirty miles out and you can actually find a single family home for less than a townhouse here. But the next county over doesn’t have much in the way of bike paths, just lots of 55mph roads with no shoulders. And the new metro line and extensions to those areas have stalled.

  2. Netter September 17, 2007 at 1:44 pm #

    Didn’t xars and cheap gasoline lead to the suburbs without sidwalks in the first place?

  3. thordora September 17, 2007 at 2:16 pm #

    yup. Fuckers.

  4. radical mama September 17, 2007 at 2:50 pm #

    I agree, gas is underpriced. Not only would we shop differently, but think about how much more expensive plastic would be. No more cheap dollar store shit being produced.

  5. marcelarhodus September 18, 2007 at 2:03 am #

    In Japan, most people just touch the car as a luxury on the weekend. Here everyone walks (also cause finding a parking space is a pain) but the transportation system is great and cheap, and once you get used to life here, walking becomes a second nature.
    here people have different food portions, walk a lot more and eat healthier things, it totally makes sense that their population is so slender.
    I’ll try to keep with me all the good habits I’ve picked up in these two years…

Leave a Reply

