New Event! Yo Tito, it’s My Birthday!

11 Sep

I turn 30 this year. In two weeks actually.

Ouch.

Honestly, it’s not that big of a deal, not really. It’s just a number. If anything, the past is what eats at me, reminds me of all the time I don’t have left, all the things I want to do, places I wanted to go. But 30 is well past where I expected to be, and that alone is a good thing.

Historically, birthday’s have been shitty days for me. Wanting the attention of someone noticing. I had to remind my father of my 16th birthday, and then received running shoes. I was always reminding him to pay attention, to love me it seemed. So now, half of my desperately wants to be showered with gifts and affection, and the other half of me wants to disregard it totally.

So. That brings us to this month’s “Event!”-I want to know about the birthday’s that mattered to you, the birthdays that left their imprint on you, for good or bad. The ones where you remember who you invited to your house. The ones you got drunk at. Your first birthday as a mother.

The usual rules apply-write a post on your site, linking to this post. Comment on this post about yours. If you don’t have a site but want to enter, email me and I’ll post it here.

The prize? A book of poetry by one of my favorite poets. I’m just not gonna tell you who.ย ๐Ÿ™‚

This Event! is open until my birthday, the 25th of this month.

11 Responses to “New Event! Yo Tito, it’s My Birthday!”

  1. Betsy September 11, 2007 at 5:36 pm #

    Wow, thanks for stopping by! I feel honored. And I adore typing in this font whatever it is. Yes, my kitten is a star. He turns into a demon at night, but that’s ok b/c I sleep so hard you’d think someone turned the key in the back of my neck and slid me into a closet.
    Happy almost birthday. My best birthday belonged to my sister. She had a Michael Jackson cake and we almost peed our pants. It was enough birthday for both of us.

  2. palofmine September 11, 2007 at 5:57 pm #

    OMG!!!!! You mean the 16th birthday? Where my mom sent a huge ugly dumb clown to my school, in the middle of band class??? Where I had to get up in front of the class with this clown????????????? where they did balloon animals on my head?????????? Where I had to carry 16 ballons around all day????????????? Where my mom got me a huge cookie for my “lunch friends”?????????? What could be worse?????????????? My face being purple in the picture!!! PS she sent me a bear on my 21st birthday to my work! Dont even get me started!

  3. Jennifer September 11, 2007 at 11:19 pm #

    Does it count if I say I hate all my birthdays and birthdays in general?

    Hrm…maybe I can do a theme post on that. “ode to birthdays that stink”.

    PS, the woman who won the june GC never collected her prizeo.

  4. thordora September 12, 2007 at 9:33 am #

    I don’t care what you do Jennifer, so long as it is a POST on YOUR site. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And palofmine, sometimes, I don’t miss having a mother. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Betsy-I want a Michael Jackson cake if it can somehow grab it’s own crotch…

  5. CamiKaos September 12, 2007 at 11:54 am #

    you know the biggest change for me when I turned 30 (in march), and I think I have mentioned this, is there is no longer a 2 in my age and that is odd

  6. Meredith September 14, 2007 at 9:04 pm #

    You know, is it creepy that our kids are both named Vivienne (Vivian) and my birthday is 3 days after yours? Of course, I am a whopping 5 years older and obviously tons more mature. HA!

    I don’t have any specific birthday memories. I am sure I do, actually. But I have tried my best to forget all the good things that happened before kids so that I may think my life is better with them.

    *Snark*

  7. thordora September 14, 2007 at 10:10 pm #

    Even creepier-my husband;s birthday and my bio mother’s birthday are the 28th as well…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 28 « sleepless in cologne - September 24, 2007

    […] 28 thordora over at spin me i pulsate wants to know about birthdays we remember for this monthโ€™s pulsate olympics. […]

  2. Reminder: Event « Spin Me I Pulsate - September 24, 2007

    […] Reminder: Event September 24, 2007 Posted by thordora in Pulsate Olympics. trackback You have until tomorrow to enter. See HERE. […]

  3. Go Now! « What’s Your Name, Mommy? - September 25, 2007

    […] was going to write a birthday story for her event but I hate my birthday with such vehement passion that I can’t even bear to recollect any of […]

Leave a Reply

