I know, I know, another Britney themed post.

11 Sep

It keeps bothering me.

All over media, there’s this huge discussion about OMG! Is Britney fat? Is it ok to call her fat? Is it mean to call her fat, or honest? Are our priorities that screwed up?

For the record, I think it’s bad tailoring than anything else. She looks normal, but she also looks oddly…puffy.

But let’s not talk about how she looked like she was on another planet, how she looked lost and unwillingly. And let’s certainly not talk about the remarks Sarah Silverman made after her performance.

Have we come this far as women that “having the balls to piss anyone off” is a virtue? Should I be proud that another woman stood up and called another woman’s children mistakes?

I continually state that woman should be allowed to be just as mediocre as men, and in many cases, get shot down about it. Yet when emulating some of the more crass and disgusting comics, everyone gets the warm fuzzies cause sister is doing it for herself. Shes casting off the bindings of patriarchy, yadda yadda yadda.

No she’s not. She’s playing into them if anything. She’s making it ok to laugh at someone’s children, and by extension, the parent, the mother. Imagine how you’d feel if those were your kids she just called mistakes. Affirmed by feminism and your place in the world? I think not.

We’ve arrived at this place where everyone is so afraid to say “that is NOT cool!”. We laugh as we watch celebrities lives go down the toilets, unwilling to look at our own hand within their fall. We’re so afraid of offending someone that we are not able to stop and point out the line in the sand. And there ARE lines.

When did it become ok to have no boundaries? Why is nothing sacred any longer?

4 Responses to “I know, I know, another Britney themed post.”

  1. Jen September 11, 2007 at 5:27 pm #

    You know, the whole Britney fat thing just baffles me.

    And Sarah Silverman? I just don’t think she’s funny. There is a whole element of cleverness that is missing from most comedy today–it isn’t about how mean and rude you can be or how many times you swear. I didn’t think she was funny before the VMAs, and the mistakes comment certainly didn’t make her seem any funnier.

    The fact is, I think nowadays people are more afraid to say that they don’t get why something is funny than to admit that it wasn’t funny in the first place.

  2. Caitlin September 11, 2007 at 6:00 pm #

    You know, if Britney was just another mom wearing jeans and a t-shirt on a playdate, I don’t think anyone would call her fat. I know very few moms of young children (especially two so close together) who don’t have at least 20 or so pounds of baby weight that stuck around.

    I think it’s dishonest to call her fat, because she’s not. I don’t think she’s too much heavier than she was in her pre-pregnancy days, since muscle is denser is than fat. We’re just noticing that she lacks most of the definition she had before.

    Sarah Silverman is free to say what she wants, but I think it reflects poorly on her. IMO, picking on an easy target just makes you look bad. And picking on children who didn’t get too much choice on where they ended up… that’s not edgy, that’s just taking being an ass to new levels.

  3. sweetsalty kate September 12, 2007 at 8:08 am #

    Here’s a clarification, as I understand it: the one who called her kids mistakes was Britney, in an interview. Sarah Silverman was simply quoting Britney’s incredibly stupid, crass public words.

    Didja see that Brit flashed her puddy tat AGAIN just after her performance? I know she’s hitting bottom and such, and is a pawn, but sweet lord, she makes it hard to drum up sympathy.

  4. thordora September 12, 2007 at 8:45 am #

    I guess my perspective is one of thinking that something is wrong, mentally with the poor thing. No one would willingly do this to themselves, and to breakdown in the public eye-oy and vey. Something just seems so terribly broken about the whole thing…

    and the bit about her calling her kids that-in the same tabloid story there’s something about her using whitestrips on their teeth..I don’t know if I believe much of that. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/20267919/

    Either way, repeating something so repugnant is a little less than classy. And I’m getting so tired of it being ok to treat people like shit in the public eye.

Leave a Reply

