This is Farmlife

6 Sep

Someone handed me a giant zucchini today, and not in the chicka chicka bow wow Ron Jeremy sense of the word. I received a zuchinni so large I know not what to do with it. Yes, I love it, but when it’s the length of my forearm…..

The person who gave it to me somehow manages to grow something other than herbs. Actually, I can grow stuff, like squash and potatoes in my compost (note to self-turn heap more often, add leaves). I just can’t get it to finish growing. I have premature tomatoes that just won’t get red.

Sigh.

I don’t get the weather in that “wasn’t born here” kind of way. Not like I do at home. In Ontario, it’s usually warm until my birthday (September 25) and then it gets cold. BAM. That’s usually when the apples and the cider and the yummy harvest stuff begins. Here, I swear that starts in July. And it only stops snowing in May. Ok, I’m exaggerating a little. But not much.

I feel out of sync with the land. I feel lost behind the season, running to catch up with a parent who refuses to wait and changes direction every 10 feet. My vision of hippy farm land must be much more south than I live.

I can grow oregano though. I haven’t managed to kill that yet. And catmint. No issues there. But my poor, sad tomatoes? Green, green green.

Good thing I hate the bloody things anyway.

7 Responses to “This is Farmlife”

  1. Mad Hatter September 6, 2007 at 10:24 pm #

    The spring is sooo late here. I never know when to put the plants into the ground and everything seems to hang on when that last spring frost is. And the slugs? Ugh.

    My tomatoes are just starting to blush now. The beans? Only putting out the first few. I guess I don’t get it either. However, I have had much more success in other years so maybe this was a down year. My oregano, like yours, kicks ass.

  2. Caitlin September 7, 2007 at 2:06 am #

    I don’t get the weather here either, but then again, I only grew up with hot and humid, and not so hot and humid for seasons. It honestly just does not occur to me to start worrying about snow once summer is over (which makes for ..interesting… shunpiking trips in New England just after Halloween). I never needed a real coat growing up, and my first winter up here was a shock, because I kept expecting it to get back up to 65F or so instead of staying around 30F for months on end.

    I have a decidedly brown thumb when it comes to anything besides volunteer trees in the sidewalk and driveway. Maybe it’s something with the weather this year? I remember my grandpa was griping about his not turning red when they normally do.

  3. bine September 7, 2007 at 3:04 am #

    forget tomatoes in ontario. they’re made for mexico, or sicily. you should be very lucky and have a very good year if they should ever turn red.
    you should ne able to grow zucchini, though. they aren’t very demanding. my dinner suggestion: the big ones are often kind of fluffy inside, so halve it, spoon out the inside to make a “boat”, chop the soft inner stuff and mix with ground beef, an egg or two, breadcrumbs, feta, pine nuts and herbs. sprinkle with parmesan and more breadcrumbs if you like. bake in 350° oven for 30 to 45 minutes.

  4. Gwen September 7, 2007 at 8:42 am #

    I found a recipe once for zucchini pie, which supposedly tasted like apple pie, but I wasn’t brave enough to try it. I can pass it on to you, though, and then you can tell us all how it is.

    And you don’t love tomatoes? Ours are erupting now, and even my ketchup hating daughter likes them, fresh from the garden.

  5. Nat September 7, 2007 at 10:36 am #

    The weather was like that here too when I was younger. Summer only go screwed up when I was an adult in my twenties. Then I was like “Wtf????”

  6. Nat September 7, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    I only like zucchini in soups or breads or anywhere where it’s not the main attraction. I find it bland, is my problem with this veggie.

  7. Marcy September 7, 2007 at 11:16 am #

    You could make zucchini bread, which is nice and sweet and doesn’t taste veggie any more than carrot cake does. Or grate it fine and mix it with eggs and a bit of onion for a nice scramble.

    Our cherry tomatoes have been ripening lately, but the bigger tomatoes are still obstinately green. I don’t know when winter begins around here, guessing it’s October / November like in Ithaca, but I’ve seen some maples turning color already.

Leave a Reply

