I turn 30 this month coming.

31 Aug

And I want things. LOTS of things. (Mogo, are you paying attention?)

First, I want my new tattoo. The big heart and birds on the back of my neck. I may have to suck up to my father for that one, since it’s likely a few hundred dollars I don’t have.

I want a PRO flickr acct. I want new books. I want to dye my hair bluer than I had it before. I want new windows. I want a manicure. I want a pretty green Dell laptop. I want music by Laura Veirs.

Why do I want so much stuff? Is it really stuff? It’s not like I want shoes or makeup or anything really really frivolous. But I still feel like I’m lusting after things I shouldn’t lust for. (Except the tattoo. I feel no guilt over that)

I want to have less, but I didn’t grow up is with much, and sometimes, I WANT to be spoiled on certain days. Mogo did good with that for Christmas last year-my black chucks, my Wonder Woman book and other stuff, as well as on our anniversary. I LOVE it.

But it feels so WRONG.

8 Responses to “I turn 30 this month coming.”

  1. Jen August 31, 2007 at 10:56 am #

    I had a huge attack of that same thing before I turned 30. I never expected to reach 21 much less freaking 30, man. Now here I am at 34 going WTF? ;P

    As much as I want to not want stuff, I too have a huge-ass list of stuff that I covet. And I really don’t want to buy it for myself. I think it’s just wanting to know that the people I care about understand who I am. It sounds so greedy, but every gift-giving occasion I get disappointed that the bulk of my presents are toiletries and clothes–things I really don’t care about. It always makes me feel as though my family doesn’t care enough to think about what I might like. I’d always prefer some small thing that takes me into consideration than a bag of clothes that collect dust in my closet.

  2. Marcy August 31, 2007 at 11:58 am #

    So with you, Jen! Although I’m finding that my wants have indeed changed… one year I exchanged a set of DVDs for some new pillows and sheets!

    There is something amazing about extravagance — lavish giving — speaks of love beyond reason, love that is boundless. I think the occasional extravagance is necessary. Frugality in between is good, too, but to be only frugal is to be too worried and too constrained.

    What’s hard is when you have to ask for extravagance. It cheapens it somehow. On the other hand, our friends and family aren’t mind-readers.

  3. karrie August 31, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    Cross the second item off your list. 🙂 Happy Birthday!

  4. Mogo is my bitch August 31, 2007 at 4:24 pm #

    shilling for birthday presents from people who’ve never even met me… I think I’ve sunk to a new low 😛

    (hehehehehehehehehehe)

  5. Hi, I'm Mogo and I like to suck donkey balls August 31, 2007 at 4:25 pm #

    and a month early no less!

    shame on me

  6. thordora August 31, 2007 at 5:02 pm #

    ACTUALLY-MOGO, the list is directed at you, mr. “but I never remember what you want”.

    so THERE.

    Its not MY fault someone wants to do something super nice and cool for me. Plus, if/when Karrie visits, I’ll have ample chance to repay her. 🙂

  7. Mogo will never get laid again August 31, 2007 at 5:31 pm #

    that’ll teach ya to leave comments from my computer! 😛

    ps – might help if you posted it a little closer to your actual BIRTHDAY

  8. Betsy August 31, 2007 at 5:32 pm #

    Being 30 is awesome.

Leave a Reply

