Soma, The shores of Lake Superior. Draft

30 Aug

On the radio

Soma hovers and alights on my ears, into my eyes

cast back I land

black grass and lamp lit night

years ago, swollen on my back.

The worlds of someone else fluttering above

We talk we listen and for a moment

we’re not 16 we’re forever

you and I, this is, we’re invincible our

feet only touch the ground

because we want them to.

We slowed time to nothing, to

glances and the passing of a torch

a minute we could stop, a second that

fingers could cling to. Faces that could watch.

That night, years back, past, our moon

hung back and glowed it’s hurried message

don’t go so fast don’t grow don’t be

quite so eager for that tomorrow

you can’t yet see.

Pine filled the air. Our hands

briefly touched as we passed.

3 Responses to “Soma, The shores of Lake Superior. Draft”

  1. bine August 30, 2007 at 2:06 pm #

    aaaah … that made my heart ache.

  2. thordora August 30, 2007 at 2:13 pm #

    As much as I make fun of the smashing pumpkins (and go right ahead Mogo) Siamese Dream is a certain year of my life in song. I didn’t know it then, but when I hear that album, and certain songs, the aches and the sorrow and the madness I felt then, along with the quiet and joy and wonder comes rushing back until I fall over, wondering if I dreampt it, or if I was there.

    I still have to work with this. But I’m glad you feel it too.

  3. Mogo August 30, 2007 at 3:31 pm #

    bwwaaaahhhaaahhhaaahhaaahhaaaaaa….

    Smashing Pumpkins…

    bwwaaaahhhaaahhhaaahhaaahhaaaaaa!!!!!!!!

    Billy Corgan is such a dick.

Leave a Reply

