Kate’s babies like to visit

28 Aug

I wake up being poked to consciousness by Kate.

In my dream, I’ve had Ben with me, or maybe it was Liam. He kept tearing his pants off, and rolling around in the snow, giggling maniacally, making me chase him. He laugh echoed through the buildings of my home town, the old stone absorbing his laughter, smiling back.

His red shirt with trains shining against the snow as other ladies smiled indulgently.

I drag him back apologetically, and his father laughs, we swap nekid kid stories and laugh, truly laugh for what feels like the first time in ages for all of us. Kate arrives, and the love-the love for her family is blinding, and warm. They are together, and happy.

We eat-good food we’d never make, delicate, particular. We talk for hours around the table it seems, everything and nothing, that easy talk of people with nothing to prove, nothing to lose.

Her son tugs at me for a question. I turn towards his sparkling face. The poking begins, and I look to Kate’s quiet face.

I wake up.

2 Responses to “Kate’s babies like to visit”

  1. sweetsalty kate August 28, 2007 at 6:14 pm #

    You know, this is uncanny. You’ve been on my mind today. I like it. 🙂

  2. Bon August 29, 2007 at 9:01 am #

    funny how what ought to be mere proximity makes you guys particularly real to me, too.

    next time you’re all hanging out in dreamworld, call me. i’ll come over.

Leave a Reply

