I did it.

23 Aug

This morning, I sent of the first poetry submission I’ve made in at least ten years.

It felt good. (great, now I’ll be hearing William Carlos Williams in my head all day)

I’m not submitting for publishing-not yet. I want feedback-I want to improve my writing, really take my imagery to that next level-you know the one I mean. The one that draws the picture in your mind, takes you there, lets you breathe in the scent of the flowers, feel the wet of the rain or tears.

I want those words to be mine. I want to weave with them, as I did so long ago. I want to reclaim that part of me that stumbled down a different path so long ago, almost lost.

I don’t expect anything from it aside from the practice of being turned down, and getting used to shilling myself. But I want the feedback, I want to be good, I want to be great.

When I was younger, I wanted to be Robyn Sarah, or maybe Robertson Davies. Where did that go? Why did I lose it?

10 Responses to “I did it.”

  1. Jen August 23, 2007 at 3:12 pm #

    Good for you! It takes a lot of guts to send stuff out, especially poetry I think. I hope all of the feedback you get is good and genuinely helps you!

  2. Eden August 23, 2007 at 4:42 pm #

    Pleeease post for feedback at Toasted Cheese. We need poems for critique and you can write. http://www.toasted-cheese.com

  3. thordora August 23, 2007 at 5:40 pm #

    I have done your bidding. They better be nice to me. 😛

  4. sweetsalty kate August 23, 2007 at 7:24 pm #

    yaay! how cool, you brave girl!

  5. Marcy August 24, 2007 at 9:21 am #

    Congratulations!

  6. Jennifer August 24, 2007 at 9:38 am #

    Awesome, that takes guts man. I have some poetry here from when I was struggling with infertility – its gut wrenching for me to read them. I don’t think I could share that with the world.

  7. Bon August 24, 2007 at 10:06 am #

    i kind of want to be Robertson Davies too, except not so old white male establishment. and yet i suspect that’s what i love about him…that he opens that world with such richness and grace.

    congrats on making that move to submit. it is all too easy to lose touch with the things we always wanted to be.

  8. Gwen August 24, 2007 at 11:29 am #

    good job and good fortune!

  9. marcelarhodus August 24, 2007 at 7:20 pm #

    I’m proud of you as corny as that sounds…

    good luck!!

  10. CamiKaos August 27, 2007 at 6:15 pm #

    good for you, super brave…

Leave a Reply

