Molasses

22 Aug

girlchild

honeychild

like molasses you are over me

clinging, sticky in your demands

tiny pursed mouth opened to a

black hole of you, of

pure frustration and need. The

needs of being 2 on this planet.

Soon, sooner than I think

sooner than warned

you will shun the arms I so unwillingly give

1 am, blurry eyed dragging teddy wordlessly

your airsoft skin gentle on mine tiny

scented head on my pillow.  My girlchild to

womanchild to woman, no child.

yet I will always have this child.

I cast my eyes into your future. I cast out

my lines flying from north to south in search of

warm mornings, cereal that stays in bowls

wet kisses, tears. They recede into

broken hearts and angry women.

I shall hand you reeds to breathe above this. I shall

grasp your hand tighter down stairs. I shall

paint stories with the greenery that frames your

tiny impish glow.

Honeychild, let the bees come. Your sweetness

flows freely as it should.

5 Responses to “Molasses”

  1. CamiKaos August 22, 2007 at 1:37 pm #

    nothing I can say, but this was beautiful. Just didn’t want to be lurking.

  2. thordora August 22, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    Thank you. It’s been a slow day on the comments, and I was beginning to think I wrote a piece of turd!

  3. bine August 22, 2007 at 3:31 pm #

    very strong, i can almost feel the stickiness and smell girl-child hair.
    have you ever smelled a 2 year old boy’s head? they smell different, even at that age.
    i love the “reeds to breathe above this”. don’t know why. a wonderful image.

  4. larien August 22, 2007 at 4:19 pm #

    This is gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous.

  5. thordora August 22, 2007 at 5:45 pm #

    aww…now’s you gots me all blushing and stuff.

Leave a Reply

