Missy’s Story

20 Aug

Some of you may know Missy, at Missy’s Big Fish Stories.

What you may not know is that she’s a victim of spousal abuse who has finally broken free. It’s a disgustingly tragic and needless story that plays itself out all over the place every second. What different is that I know Missy, and she’s one of the kinder souls I’ve encountered in my life, someone who I’d gladly stand in front of and take the punch for. (Don’t worry-I hit back, and hard)

Jason is passing the “virtual hat” since her  finances were controlled by her husband, something normal and scary in these situations, and in order to retain an attorney, she needs the money, not to mention that she has 5 kids she’s responsible for, and no local family. Oh, and the judge flat out denied her a protection order for no apparent reason.

Nice. Apparently, this is what passes for justice these days. I’m appalled. I’m appalled that “the man’s” word is still taken as gospel in these situations. I’m appalled that vigilante justice has gone so far out of style.

I’m going to try and scrape up some cash to send, whatever I can. I encourage everyone to, at the very least, pass the word along. And if anyone knows any lawyers good at handling this type of shit, I’m sure she could use some rational advice right now. I can only venture a guess at how alone and scared she is.

2 Responses to “Missy’s Story”

  1. missy August 21, 2007 at 11:48 am #

    I love my blogging buddies.
    A little update: Child protective services is getting involved now. I have a meeting with them on Monday afternoon; bringing the kids so they can all be interviewed. Also the case has been picked up by the prosecutor, so if he’s convicted (even if he gets no jail time) there will be a bond issued and he won’t be able to have any contact with me. So I may not need a PPO if all of that goes through. That would be good news all around.
    Thanks Thor, you’re the best. 🙂

  2. misspudding August 26, 2007 at 12:47 am #

    Ugh, Missy (from a fellow Missy and former Michigander)…I’m so sorry to hear that you’re going through this hell.

    Thanks, Thordora, for taking care of everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

