Questioned…

17 Aug

So I, being the attention whore that I am, asked CamiKaos to grill me. (Hey-it’s a post at the very least, cause I’m lazy)

Here’s what she asked me.

1)  You are a self proclaimed tattoo snob, I love that about you, now to the question:  How did your interest in tattoos come about?

I’ve loved tattoos since I was a little girl, the way most kids love barbie or puppies. My father had this guy names Jeremy working for him, doing janitorial stuff around his store. Jeremy was my girlhood inspiration for what someone “cool” would look like. He was weird. He was funny. He was nice to me. He seemed so grown up!

He had this incredible (or at least it seemed incredible to me) dragon piece up his right arm, and of course, had his nose pierced. (Late eighties and all) Did I mention he was always super nice to me, and let me follow him around and basically annoy him?

He solidified my belief that tattoos don’t make people bad, and that “freaky” people are much much cooler. He was always so nice to me, and not in that “your Dad is my boss” way. He just was a nice guy. Of course, my Dad didn’t think so when I asked him if I could go get a tattoo.

Later on, after my mother died, I started identifying with more and more with the things I saw on the fringe, since tattooing hadn’t quite made it’s way into the common lexicon just yet. And I saw a small tattoo in a magazine I kept on my wall for years-it was merely the word “Re-Birth” in script on someone’s arm. It inspired me to believe that we can be born again within ourselves from what we experience, and that we are not set in stone.

One tattoo did all of that.

They’re also my way of honoring places I’ve been, people I love. Inscribing my on my body is the closest to divinity I’ll ever come.

2)  The other day you   said “Sometimes I know I do not deserve them, that they are mine by pure accident” of your kids.  It gave me pause to wonder if you think of life as an accident or as an organized event.  Why does what happens, happen?

To begin with, I refer to my children as accidents because they are. We hadn’t planned on any children, let alone two. But I do believe that they are something we “let” happen. After 5 years of marriage, together yet not a team, something had to change one way or another. I choose to believe that creating life together was the good path.

I think of life in terms of choices, roads we take or don’t take. At every major point in my life, I can look back and clearly see two roads, or maybe three that could have been taken instead. There is no wrong choice. Just different ones. Since I don’t believe in a god, I tend to make a more person based approach to what I believe in life-we govern our choices to the degree that we can, but everything is connected. My choices at a certain point were influenced by love-being with my husband figured predominately in many of my choices. Not “what does he want” but more in a “what do I want” way.

I believe there are accidents, and there is some sense to the chaos we live. Each is wonderful in it’s own way. Surprises are nice sometimes.

3)  What is truly the best Nick Cave song ever, and, is he better on his own or with those Bad Seeds?

This would be a great question for Mogo, who LOVES them, but I prefer him with The Birthday Party actually. (And now I’ll be singing Zoo Music Girl All. Day. Long.) I do want to see that movie he just did awhile back as well.

4)  What is the most evil children’s toy on the market today?

One? Aside from the irritating ones that Mogo buys?

I hate Bratz dolls. I hate how stores are set into “girl” sections and “boy” sections. I hate that I get asked “Do I want a boy or girl toy” at McDicks. It’s not so much the toys I hate as it is the world of toys my girls grow up in, and the constant battle I have in countering the gender brainwashing. Vivian got a cabbage patch doll and a superhero for her birthday. Which is how it should be. There are no BOY or GIRL toys. THAT is evil.

5)  What does blogging do for you?

Whew. Save the big deep one up for last.

Right now, it provides a very needed outlet for teh crazy in my brain. I feel so alone within my disease sometimes, so isolated and detached fro m people who actually get it. I have so very few sources of support. Keeping an identity online helps me feel real-helps me get rid of the bile coursing through my veins, and helps me stay grounded. It makes me smile on the bad day, makes me laugh. It lets me remember that once upon a time, I had some talent to fall back on. It occasionally reminds me that the talent is still bottled up there somewhere. Waiting.

So. That took care of me deciding what to post this morning. 🙂

If you’d like to be harassed, here’s how.

Interview rules:
1. Leave me a comment saying “Interview Me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with a post containing your the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

18 Responses to “Questioned…”

  1. Jen August 17, 2007 at 8:47 am #

    Is it possible to choose the best Nick Cave song ever? (I’m a Mr. Clarinet kind of gal myself :P)

    Interview Me!

  2. allyo August 17, 2007 at 9:38 am #

    Ok, I’d like to play. Interview me!

  3. bine August 17, 2007 at 10:08 am #

    i’d have loved to interview you, too (pout).
    but i loved the questions, and the answers, especially the first two.

    i really like your approach of tattoos. i’m not opposed to tattoos, i admire good tattoos on other people, but somehow nothing ever seemed “permanent” enough for me to have it inscribed on my skin. also, at this point, i’d be plain scared how a tattoo would look in a couple of years time – on sagging skin.

    it’s so wonderful you can say that creating life together was a good path. so many people i meet seemed to have children just because they got bored with their lifes or felt it was what was expected of them. not all of them are happy about it today. so it’s especially good to read this – that you feel your two “surprises” were the right thing to do.

    it’s good that blogging outlet helps you stay grounded. sometimes i feel so mute, so helpless reading your bp-connected posts, because, unlike gabriel (who did a great job harassing you, i think), i lack the experience to add anything useful and saying “i’m sorry” over and over again seems so lame. i’m glad you have a community there.

  4. thordora August 17, 2007 at 10:46 am #

    Bine, even the quiet “Im here” comments help me more than you ever could know. It matters.

    And gabriel is a pain in the ass. IN a good way of course. 😛

    I will play with everyone else sometime this weekend.

  5. Marcy August 17, 2007 at 11:30 am #

    Can I join in, too?

    Oh, and Bratz are definitely evil. I had a dream last night about some controversy over a set of notebooks that had a picture of a little girl on the cover — at first glance, they look all innocent, but if you actually look you see the girl’s totally exposing herself (it’s blank, but still) and she’s positioned rather seductively. Hmmm…

  6. CamiKaos August 17, 2007 at 11:53 am #

    hooray!! great answers. I love learning.

  7. Gabriel... August 17, 2007 at 12:01 pm #

    OH. MY. GOD. Thordora, I have only been a pain in someone’s ass once and it wasn’t entirely my fault… oh, wait. Okay, I see. That’s not what you meant at all.

    Okay… I’m in. Interview me.

  8. bine August 17, 2007 at 12:30 pm #

    heh heh … did i mention i love that guy?

  9. Heather August 17, 2007 at 2:12 pm #

    Ooh, interview me!!!

  10. Magdalena August 17, 2007 at 5:58 pm #

    Ok, you aksed. Interview me!
    Ewww. Even though I am freaking booooorrring!

  11. Dragon August 17, 2007 at 7:59 pm #

    Ick I hate the bratz dolls. I can’t stand the gender stereotyping of EVERYTHING for little kids. My family thinks I’m nuts because I keep saying I don’t want a bunch of cute “boy” stuff. See, I knew I wasn’t the only one who felt this way.

    Oh, interview me please?

    –Dragon

  12. marcelarhodus August 17, 2007 at 9:45 pm #

    totally agree with you on the Bratz… they are so not getting close to my daughter as much as I can stop it…

    and I so totally agree with your answer to #2… so true… choices, options, and surprising accidents…

    same with the gender stereotypes.. I hate anything baby colors as well.. love bright vibrant colors, they are more full of life.

    could I be interviewed?

  13. Gabriel... August 18, 2007 at 8:18 am #

    It’s “Cartoon Day” and I was flipping between Power Rangers and CHIN Multiethnic TV while waiting for GTA: San Andreas to boot up and I saw a commercial for “Beauty Cuties: Beauty Is Our Duty” that could beat Bratz for pure animated misogynistic fun.

    http://www.beautycuties.com/

    Whoops… Sponge Bob’s on.

  14. thordora August 18, 2007 at 8:41 am #

    oh my good fsm….that’s revolting….

  15. terry November 14, 2009 at 7:52 am #

    i lke you to teach me some technics

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Questions From Thordora A Few Answers From Me And Very Little Mention Of Cheese « …salted lithium. - August 20, 2007

    […] or vomitcomet, which is named after the late night bus service in Toronto. She was recently asked five questions by another blogger, with the caveat she publish the answers and she was to ask anyone who […]

  2. Thordora interviews me « Becoming Three - August 20, 2007

    […] now, Thordora’s […]

  3. Interview Me « many good things - August 21, 2007

    […] 21st, 2007 by allyo I asked Thordora for five questions to answer. She came up with some great […]

Leave a Reply

