Look! It’s our faults again ladies!

15 Aug

Apparently, eating crap while pregnant will made your kid love crap, and end up eating that way all their lives.

Cause all the curry I ate while pregnant with Vivian made her such a fan.

I buy the part about passing on poor eating habits. But the bit about the predisposition to eating poorly due to those tastes in the womb-I would chalk that up to being more about how the brain is wired, period. People loved junk food before their mother ate it, so there’s a bigger reason at play I would say.

But in the meantime, just another thing to make mother’s feel like shit over. Awesome!

11 Responses to “Look! It’s our faults again ladies!”

  1. peppylady August 15, 2007 at 9:54 am #

    I often wonder why they can’t blame anything on the sperm

  2. thordora August 15, 2007 at 9:59 am #

    I bet the sperm beketchuped it’s hot dog and made the kids crave nitrates…

  3. Jennifer August 15, 2007 at 10:03 am #

    Interesting.

    Makes sense with my kids though. With the first, I couldn’t pass a mcdonalds without getting a fillet o fish, I ate fish 3-4 times per week. Now, she LOVES all seafood. Will eat it over her beloved chicken fingers.

    The second I was a fruit-o-holic. So is she. On the flip side, she will tackle me for beer. I majorly craved beer. Like serious cravings. When we would go out to eat, I’d make glen order beer so I could smell it and sneak a sip or two mid-meal.

    Now, she smells it across the room and will tackle me for it. I take a sip and she swoops in to try and suck it off my lips. She’s weird. Did I mention she was evil?

  4. thordora August 15, 2007 at 10:08 am #

    I totally craved beer with Vivian. It was insane. Never had any though.

    That might explain the pictures of her with her lips wrapped around a beer bottle at 10 months though. 🙂

    I’m not saying I totally discount it. I just would like to see the study done a little further, and on actually PEOPLE.

  5. andi August 15, 2007 at 10:18 am #

    I’ve stopped reading these articles. They keep changing their minds about what’s good for kids. It’s my right to screw them up exactly how I want to, damnit!

  6. nell August 15, 2007 at 10:57 am #

    Oh that is such crap. They don’t think is has anything to do with the fact that if you eat crap while pregnant then you’re probably the kind of person who eats crap after your pregnancy and has it around and the kids eat it and that’s why they love it? Duh. That’s why my kids love it. I try to hide – but they always find me. At least when I was pregnant I could eat the stuff in peace.

  7. Netter August 15, 2007 at 11:16 am #

    The first half of the pregnancy I could barely eat anything. I continued to have strong aversions to eggs and coldcuts throughout. My kid likes eggs and coldcuts. I don’t think I ate a chicken nugget the whole time I was pregnant, but he eats them all the time. The french fries, I’ll give you, but I don’t know a single person who does not like french fries. I know people who won’t eat them, but no one ever says I hate french fries. Oh, and chocolate. But, they say that made him a happier baby.

  8. Judy August 15, 2007 at 1:15 pm #

    It makes sense on some level, but at the same time, eh, I don’t know. I know I’ve heard breastfed babies prefer the tastes of what their moms ate while bfing, and my boys have loved the garlic (Guthrie will eat minced garlic straight out of the jar) and spices. And I ate crap with Samantha and she eats, well, lots of crap, but that’s her dad’s fault, ’cause he doesn’t give her anything else.

    And more anecdotal evidence: I eat nothing like my mom. AT all. Our tastes in food, excepting that we both love ice cream, are almost complete opposites. I’ve always eaten much more like my father, who would try anything (literally, if it was edible, he wanted to try it), and who, strangely, had more “sophisticated” tastes than my mom, even though she was born in a city and had at least some education, while he was a born and bred farm boy who didn’t even have a GED.

  9. marcelarhodus August 15, 2007 at 5:35 pm #

    that study probably was done by some men trying to find a way to blame their mothers for one more thing…
    I don’t buy it… I believe we’re predisposed to prefer certain tastes and then our upbringing reinforces that.

  10. CamiKaos August 15, 2007 at 5:51 pm #

    Gah, I am so irritated by this “study” It is another case of society looking for some one to blame because no one wants to take responsibilty for their own problems.

    Seriously. If you offered my 5 year old daughter fast food or sushi and miso soup she will go for sushi and miso soup. If you ask her if she wants fast food or grilled chicken breast green beans and rice she will choose the latter. She has grown up eating healthy home cooked meals. Since she was 2 years old we have had her help with cooking (in appropriate ways of course). She loves to cook. She loves veggies. She hates greasy food.

    I ate cheeseburgers from McD’s and ice cream sandwiches the entire time I was pregnant. It was a complete departure from my normal eating habits but it was difficult to keep anything else down…

    So now despite all the great healthy foods we have introduced to our daughter, foods she has loved, chosen and prepared with us I am supposed to believe she is fucked and doomed to a life of eating fast food.

    I am really glad in my sick masochistic was that you called my attention to the study.

    How irritating.

    Sorry my comment wound up longer than your post…

    Holy Hell that is stupid study. Blah blah blah, it’s your mom’s fault… Growl.. oops. sorry. angry cami….

    🙂

  11. klc79 January 5, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Ha ha this is funny. This is my first pregnancy so I don’t know if my baby will crave all the salty foods I have been eating. But I can say that I’m a sugar-holic and since I have been pregnant the last thing that sounds good to me is anything sweet. So maybe my kid will be luck y and not have my sweet tooth.

    I’m also all for a study about the sperm and what problems it causes =0)

Leave a Reply

