Immerse yourself in love.

15 Aug

Years ago it seems, I was living on my own in a city I loved passionately for awhile, surrounded by people who lived their lives in a way I wasn’t used to, people who tasted the world around them with all their senses.

I loved it. I did more living in that year than I did in many others since. It was magical-being 16 or 17, on my own, running the streets. What I remember most about that year was how the streets always seems to be wet-that reflective autumn wet that smells of growth. It was a warm winter, and we walked for hours and hours.

I spent many of those hours by myself, listening to music. I remember vividly the first time I heard this song-all my defending Radiohead suddenly made sense. I saw in my mind something I hadn’t seen before. How lovely and heartbreaking and breathtaking a song really could be. I felt in my lungs the note that would be carried through life, the beginning, the end, my own wonder at life, my own wonder at myself and everything that sprung up around me.

It was an incredible year that I carry with me everywhere.

2 Responses to “Immerse yourself in love.”

  1. karrie August 15, 2007 at 6:22 pm #

    I was running around the streets of Stockholm when that song was newish.

    Different lifetime.

  2. bon August 15, 2007 at 9:08 pm #

    so so lovely. the song, sure, but the post. the description of discovering a city on foot, walking and walking, when all was new.

    dude. thanks for the reminder of the wonder.

Leave a Reply

