If one ends up adopted, you know why.

13 Aug

Today  might be the day I kill my children.

I don’t know if it’s because we have a visitor this week (their beloved Auntie) or the heat of me being cranky, but holy FUCK my children are irritating. The past few nights have seen bedtimes of around 10pm, after 2-3 hours of screaming, yelling, whining, crying and generally pissing around.

I on the other hand, have been sleeping like crap when I do make it to bed, so I’m exhausted. And cranky. Very, very cranky. Everything has to be noisy with these two, a fight, screaming, pulling, running NOISE NOISE NOISE.

I cannot handle it. I am now counting down the year until Vivian starts school.

10 Responses to “If one ends up adopted, you know why.”

  1. Gabriel... August 13, 2007 at 10:46 am #

    Have you tried leaving plastic bags lying around?

  2. thordora August 13, 2007 at 11:03 am #

    now that is a good thought…

  3. cherylann August 13, 2007 at 11:25 am #

    I was like that yesterday. Take a deep breath, have them play in their room for about 30 minutes and try to think about the little reasons why you love them. Good Luck… wish I could help more by taking them away for a couple hours. Last night my husband called from work when the Bean was throwing a huge fit… I told him- “If you get home and she’s locked in the closet and I’ve pulled out my hair- don’t be surprised” he laughed. Fucker.

  4. Her Bad Mother August 13, 2007 at 12:06 pm #

    One bottle of vodka – no more than, say, a third of a cup remaining at the bottom – with a loose cap. Or, lock ’em in a dark room and tell them that God wants them in the dark until they shuddup.

    Or – if you’re determined to be a *good* parent – just grin and bear it.

    Hang in there. 😉

  5. Claude August 13, 2007 at 1:45 pm #

    My first time thru here… don’t leave plastic bags around, that might leave too much evidence later on.

    Here’s to a vacation (for the kids) nearly over…

  6. Jennifer August 13, 2007 at 2:52 pm #

    I don’t get the plastic bag reference. 😦

    Do you have any normal routines in place?

    There are a bunch of different strategies you can try. Ive been doling out behavioral advice all morning and I’m still in help mode.

    1) Have a clock or other transition tool out to dictate bedtime. “Oh look, the clock says 8:00, its time to go to bed”. Deflects this off you – they can’t reason/negotiate with a clock.

    2) Address all other crap, like water needs, bathroom needs, lovies – give them no excuse to get outof bed.

    3) If they do get out of bed, quietly, with no interaction, take a hand, ad lead them back to bed.

    #3 works on Rugrat after 2 tries. We do all three now because she is the queen of the “fart around”.

    Just some ideas. I know its frustrating. You’ll get their number soon enough.

  7. thordora August 13, 2007 at 3:10 pm #

    I think it’s mostly been the excitement and the fact that we haven’t really done anything lately. They’re at a butterfly park with their aunties today (hooray for peace and quiet!) and both had a nap that wasn’t too long or short, so I’m hoping that IS the ticket.

  8. Gabriel... August 13, 2007 at 3:30 pm #

    Don’t forget, cough syrup can be candy… “NyQuil relieves your col… *child* symptoms at night so you can get the rest you need to have a good morning.”

  9. andi August 13, 2007 at 10:42 pm #

    This sounds so familiar. Yesterday when the husband called from work to ask how everything was going, I told him it would be a bloody miracle if HIS daughter was alive when he got home.

  10. Meredith August 15, 2007 at 4:59 pm #

    You need a countdown clock!!!

    http://www.widgetbox.com/widget/countdown-clock

Leave a Reply

