New Event! First time for everything

6 Aug

I can remember a lot of firsts. The first time I realized that I had a place in a larger world, that I fit in a larger context. The night I lost my virginity. The first cry of my first daughter. My first period. The first time I ate chocolate mousse.

Firsts, to me, are indicators, sign posts. Places I’ve been, places I’ve seen. Places I will go, like when Vivian starts school, or Rosalyn gets sent home for beating up boys for the first time.

So for this month, the hazy lazy month of August (which also happens to be when the birthday of my firstborn-she’s FOUR on the 11th FOUR!) write about your firsts-the first time you wore heels, make up, the first time you knew you’d found your partner for life, the first time you ate something disgusting (scallops, I’m looking at you)

You can write a new post or use an old post, so long as you throw in a link to this post or the site, and leave me a comment linking to your post in the comments of this one. I’ll leave this month’s contest open until August 21, my original due date for Vivian.

The prize this month? A box of stuff I actually like about the Maritimes, possibly including some fricot, saltwater taffy, poutine mix, and maybe even some Acadian goodies. Mostly a surprise, since Vivian was a surprise after all. 🙂

So get writing, and linking!

19 Responses to “New Event! First time for everything”

  1. radicalmama August 6, 2007 at 9:44 am #

    Well, maybe I’ll do this one. But I am all about the unrelated comments lately, so here’s todays:

    I dreampt that John and I came to visit you and Mogo. You lived in a gigantic contempory all-glass house on a cliff over-looking the sea. And Mogo had a lot of tattoos. Anyhoo, it was a pleasant visit. 🙂

  2. peppylady August 6, 2007 at 1:21 pm #

    I guess like all I have my first some where pleasant and other were not.
    But I’ll share my first time both of my boys was in school and I was home alone.

    Sawyer was in 2nd grade and Bart was in Kindergarten here is only half of day and I planned to clean out under the kitchen sink.
    The only thing I did was stand in middle of kitchen floor with a blank look on my face.

  3. Mogo August 6, 2007 at 3:38 pm #

    “And Mogo had a lot of tattoos.”

    not yet… but if I can ever stop hemorhaging money into this fucking house… or move somewhere where they have, y’know, half-decent tattoo artists… 😛

  4. misspudding August 7, 2007 at 2:17 am #

    Don’t like scallops? Why the bivalve hate?

    I’m not sure I can come up with the coolest post ever but I sure would love to get something Maritimes related (I’m a sucker for regional differences in food and culture and maps, dammit! I love maps! Someone send me a map of something…).

  5. bine August 7, 2007 at 4:58 am #

    oooh! that’s a nice one! i’ll go writing!

    and, misspudding, have a look here
    http://strangemaps.wordpress.com/

  6. dragon August 9, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    I linked back here, but I’m not sure how to make it appear here, so here’s a link there: Event response!

  7. Carin August 10, 2007 at 11:43 am #

    I have an entry!

    http://vomitcomet.blogspot.com/2007/08/first-time-for-everything.html

    Ug it’s long.

  8. misspudding August 11, 2007 at 7:26 pm #

    bine, thanks for the link! That’s awesome!

    Thordora, here’s my post: http://capillaryfringe.wordpress.com/2007/08/11/my-first-road-trip/

  9. bine August 16, 2007 at 11:40 am #

    i can think of a lot of firsts, but somehow this month i couldn’t bring myself to spill my guts about anything.
    so it turned out to be a picture post. it will look better on my site than on a feed reader, so i’ll link here:
    http://bineblog.wordpress.com/2007/08/16/a-first-for-almost-everything/
    now that i read your post again i realize i forgot my first period. tss. i guess i’m not doing it over because of that.
    hope you like it anyway!

  10. CamiKaos August 20, 2007 at 2:27 pm #

    hmmm… I must get posting.

  11. CamiKaos August 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm #

    this was a really good topic, I enjoyed thinking on it. I posted mine http://www.camikaos.com/2007/08/firsts.html

  12. mamaloo, the doula August 22, 2007 at 12:18 am #

    I’m technically 17 minutes late by my house clock, or 3 minutes early by my computer clock. Here is my entry:
    http://momcast.blogspot.com/2007/08/my-first-nipple-shield.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Event! hello….gonna enter? Ever? « Spin Me I Pulsate - August 9, 2007

    […] a link to the original Event! post on YOUR […]

  2. First journal « Becoming Three - August 9, 2007

    […] Filed under: Memes — Marcy @ 11:01 am Thordora asks us to write about a […]

  3. Firsts « Girl Gone Feral - August 11, 2007

    […] Thordora wants to hear stories of firsts. While working tonight, I discussed with two coworkers some of our firsts, trying to think of […]

  4. the first flutters « daisybones - August 16, 2007

    […] Mollybird, as if she had wings shaking me from the inside. My entry for a First Something in the Pulsate Olympics. I wasn’t going to enter, but Bine’s erntry inspired me. Go […]

  5. Event! First Time for Everything-One Last Day! « Spin Me I Pulsate - August 20, 2007

    […] Write your post (or use an old one) and leave a comment on this post. […]

  6. vomit comet » >A First Time for Everything - April 25, 2012

    […] event is about the first time for everything. She wants to hear about the first time we did something, felt something, etc. You would think that […]

Leave a Reply

