That’s it’s own landfill, right?

3 Aug

We’ve all heard the clown car jokes. Vagina extrodinaire Duggar popped out number 17.

What’s always killed me are the people who say that big families like this are more frugal and leave less of a foot print.

I don’t know about you, but 90,000 diapers seems like a pretty fucking big footprint.

And man-does she even have to push anymore? Wouldn’t it be super easy to pop them out by this point?

22 Responses to “That’s it’s own landfill, right?”

  1. karainmd August 3, 2007 at 11:05 pm #

    wow. 17 kids. I can’t even imagine what their energy bill is like..or their grocery bill. ooo it hurts my head to think of all the money they must spend each month.

  2. Marcy August 4, 2007 at 8:33 am #

    Not that I’m one of those who thinks people with small families are disobeying God, but I bet a lot of them use cloth diapers.

  3. radicalmama August 4, 2007 at 10:02 am #

    I’m going to leave it at “yuck” although that doesn’t even BEGIN to describe my disgust.

  4. cherylann August 4, 2007 at 10:49 am #

    Have you watched any of those shows that they make? The creepy thing is that they are really good kids. They use cloth diapers, only have like 3 outfits a piece, and work as a cohesive “team”. I wrote an entry about them a while back, but seriously… Can you imagine being pregnant for like 20 years in a row?

    http://shrinkingraisingirl.blogspot.com/2007/01/soccer-team-and-more.html#links

  5. thordora August 4, 2007 at 10:56 am #

    Even if it’s cloth-that’s 90,000 diapers worth of POO in the water system. Blech.

    I’ve watched the shows, and they creep me out-it’s like there’s this tension just slightly below the surface that they cannot let out. I don’t get the drive to have that many children. The whole “populate the earth” thing had a lot more meaning before modern medicine and urban living.

  6. bon August 4, 2007 at 11:44 am #

    i don’t get it either…the desire, that is. it’s like they’re Borg or something.

    plus all the J names just strikes me as the heighth of tacky.

    but…the cloth diapers. that’s pretty cool. they’re certainly getting their money’s worth out of their initial investment on that front, too…

  7. peppylady August 4, 2007 at 12:08 pm #

    I don’t see ware it said what kind of diapers they use but I do see some real disadvantage of having this many children.
    1. When do they have to home school there children? I’ve seen families they claim they home school there kids and I knew one family here that does it and two or three years ago he didn’t know what a nickel was and he was 14 or 15 then.
    2. How is her health and rest of the family.
    3. Earth is overpopulated and as each one of us breathe we add carbon doc oxide.
    The only thing I can say good about this is when all the kids get older and out in work force they be paying in to social security.
    But in general I think there nuts.

  8. feartheseeds August 4, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    There are a few examples in my family tree of double digit families — my first relatives in Canada had twenty-two surviving children, and there are many families in the forest growing in my region of Canada who have more recent examples of double digit broods. I have an aunt-by-marriage who has eleven brothers and sisters.

    Granted, in this culture a family this size has become an oddity and this one look more like clones than naturally conceived children, but there’s still lots of space left on earth, so as long as the waste-water treatment plants are operating at optimum efficiency and the kids are healthy, educated and there’s no abuse I’m not sure how this is a problem… other than maybe for Mr. Duggar’s friction requirements.

  9. thordora August 4, 2007 at 1:15 pm #

    “I’m not sure how this is a problem… other than maybe for Mr. Duggar’s friction requirements.”

    there’s always another entrance to take care of that 😉

  10. thordora August 4, 2007 at 1:36 pm #

    For the record, that was MOGO, NOT ME. I stayed logged into his computer.

    Sigh.

    I just don’t get the urge to reproduce that much. And while I don’t think big families are the biggest problem-it doesn’t help the whole wealth distribution thing. Want 17 kids? How’s about adopting 17 kids from Liberia? That would be a great start…

  11. radicalmama August 4, 2007 at 4:20 pm #

    The duggars are all about wealth (re)distribution, in their own nifty way!

    I could be debt-free too if TLC built me a 7000 sq foot house, if I had all kinds of tax write-offs for breeding and “church” related stuff, and if I had a few teenage slaves, I mean, girls to help do the laundry and cooking so I didn’t have to hire help. Oh, and there’s that whole “exploiting the family by publishing/ video-taping every event of their lives for money” angle they got goin’ on. But some of us have to work to pay our bills. C’est la vie.

    Come on. Many many people have pointed out that if a black family had 17 kids and lived off of tax refunds and hand-outs, we all know what the op-eds would be saying about them. So, I think don’t think a little criticism is out of line here at all.

    And as a feminist (or any other self-respecting thinking woman), I just can’t like people who don’t think that ANY woman (not just Michelle Duggar, but the rest of too) should NOT have access to birth control. Or people that are saving money for their sons to go to college, but not their daughters. Bullshit. Bullshit. Bullshit.

    Meh.

  12. thordora August 4, 2007 at 5:02 pm #

    ahfreakingmen.

    Be even worse if it was a hispanic family.

    What they are doing is making average, middle of the road folk think that many christians are nutbars. That can’t be good especially in this age of declining church attendance.

    Hey…maybe THAT’s why they have so many kids…

  13. thordora August 4, 2007 at 5:58 pm #

    ” “I’m not sure how this is a problem… other than maybe for Mr. Duggar’s friction requirements.”

    there’s always another entrance to take care of that”

    come to think of it, using that entrance would be a nice way to put an end to the breeding too 😉

    MOGO STRIKES AGAIN!!!!! 😛

  14. thordora August 4, 2007 at 6:00 pm #

    “Come on. Many many people have pointed out that if a black family had 17 kids and lived off of tax refunds and hand-outs, we all know what the op-eds would be saying about them. So, I think don’t think a little criticism is out of line here at all.”

    I agree with this wholeheartedly!

    MOGO STRIKES AGAIN!!!!! 😛

  15. thordora August 4, 2007 at 6:06 pm #

    Mogo needs a good flogging.

  16. feartheseeds August 4, 2007 at 7:00 pm #

    As a feminist myself I don’t particulary think black, brown or beige families deserve criticism when they can find ways to get paid enough to feed their brood… be it welfare or TV Producers. I’ve never seen the program, never heard of the Duggan’s before today, but if they can get a TV station to subsidize their family, good on them. On the other hand, criticism of how they’re raising their multitudes of children — including those plus-sized non-TV families living on non-TV money — seems warranted. Especially considering what seems to happen to TV kids when the TV show is cancelled.

    Of the four most fun things to do with friction a good flogging is definitely one of the three good ways to prevent pregnancy.

  17. Marcy August 4, 2007 at 8:48 pm #

    Honestly, I don’t relate to the desire either. But at the same time the criticism gets me thinking about China and the one child rule. We don’t want to go to that, do we?

    And would you believe that sometimes I don’t like the idea of birth control? As a survivor of PPD I fervently wish to not get pregnant again, and I don’t want to be celibate, so I’ve got to use some kind of birth control, but it still bothers me. I can respect people who don’t believe in using it.

    Preventing people from having access to it is a little different, but again — if someone believes it’s murder to prevent conception, then for that person, preventing access to birth control is really about saving lives.

    Again — honestly, honestly, I’m so with you all in so many ways, but for some reason I always seem to be reactionary.

  18. Eden August 4, 2007 at 11:34 pm #

    This makes me think of that scene in The Meaning of Life where the mom is washing dishes and the baby just slides out & thumps on the floor and she keeps on washing the dishes.

    Father: The mill’s closed. There’s no more work. We’re destitute.
    Children: Ohhhhh.
    Father: I’m afraid I have no choice but to sell you all for scientific experiments.

  19. feartheseeds August 5, 2007 at 12:09 am #

    I guess, maybe, that makes us the Protestants next door?

    Harry Blackitt: Look at them, bloody Catholics, filling the bloody world up with bloody people they can’t afford to bloody feed.

    Mrs. Blackitt: What are we dear?

    Harry Blackitt: Protestant, and fiercely proud of it.

    Mrs. Blackitt: Hmm. Well, why do they have so many children?

    Harry Blackitt: Because… every time they have sexual intercourse, they have to have a baby.

    Mrs. Blackitt: But it’s the same with us, Harry.

    Harry Blackitt: What do you mean?

    Mrs. Blackitt: Well, I mean, we’ve got two children, and we’ve had sexual intercourse twice.

    Except… technically, the Duggan’s are Protestant’s… isn’t that weird.

  20. frisky August 5, 2007 at 4:40 am #

    “I’m not sure how this is a problem… other than maybe for Mr. Duggar’s friction requirements.”

    It reminds me of a Family Guy quote. “Or at this point, would it be like throwing a hot dog down a hallway?”

    I can’t help but think that after about ten kids, this started to become more of a long-term publicity stunt. Maybe it’s the skeptic in me, but… seventeen kids?! Yikes!

  21. feartheseeds August 5, 2007 at 5:10 am #

    “…hotdog down a hallway?” That’s exactly the quote I was trying to remember. Ah, the philosophies of Peter Griffin. Truly he is the thinker of our time… well, him and Carl “CJ” Johnson.

  22. thordora August 5, 2007 at 10:53 am #

    After a hotdog in the hallway, I have nothing intelligent to add.

Leave a Reply

