“I am so embarrassed I got my period”

3 Aug

Now don’t be.

It happens to all of us. Its special. (Ok, if you’re lying on the floor bleeding like a stuck pig and wondering if you’re ovaries are trying to come out of your body, you might disagree with me on this point).

And ok, some of it isn’t that special. Like here. It wasn’t very special at the time.

But it built character, and that matters, right?

Here’s the thing. This means you’re becoming a woman. You are leaving childhood behind. I don’t care what all the TV shows say, or the books. This is a signal from your body and nature that you are blossoming into something more. Into a being that can create life, give life. You are learning that your body cannot be governed, not always. It’s magical if you think about it.

Don’t ever be embarrassed to buy what you need. (or, just go get a Diva Cup and be done with it.) Walk out without the double bag and be proud. I was actually more mortified when a cashier put it in double bags for me without asking-why would I be ashamed of a natural process? My body is doing what it should-bleeding to remind me that I haven’t created life just then.

I was embarrassed as hell when I got mine-and annoyed. Because I had no one around me to help make it a celebration of life-the giving and continuance of life, to celebrate my coming of age. My own rite of passage.

Celebrate for you if nothing else. Dance under the moon, run free through dew wet fields-tie into your world as much as you can. Embrace the womanhood that is coming.

There is nothing to be ashamed of. Be happy and strong, and grow into the woman you will be.

14 Responses to ““I am so embarrassed I got my period””

  1. Netter August 3, 2007 at 10:30 am #

    I remember the nurse at my pediatrician explaining that every month your body got ready to make a home for a baby and when you didn’t get pregnant it had to get rid of it to start over. I always liked that explanation.

  2. uuMomma August 3, 2007 at 11:07 am #

    just posted on Bleeding is fo suckas, but just had to add here that I may forward a link to this to my girls. I’ve tried telling them all the wonderful stuff, but I’ve also told them all that other stuff. They’ve discovered that ibuprofen is a wonderful thing. And I’ve showed them how to curl up in the fetal position and moan rather than to tear into anything (or one) with flesh. Problem here: I had a partial hysterectomy 7 years ago and I no longer bleed (no, THATS not the problem, silly), so I’m stuck in technology of 7 years ago. I need to look into new products like the cup you mention. Thanks for the nudge.

  3. Betsy August 3, 2007 at 11:55 am #

    Hey, I’ve been thinking about getting a Diva Cup. How do you like it? One of the things that intrigues me about it (and the other alternative menstrual products) is the idea that it will allow me to feel more positive about this natural process and how it connects us all as women. I really like that idea – it’d be nice to think something every month other than, “Here’s hoping my cramps aren’t too bad,” and “The birth control is still working – score!”

  4. mamaloo, the doula August 3, 2007 at 1:00 pm #

    I’m totally getting the cup and making some cloth pads when my period comes back. It was a year the last time I had a child, so we’ll see about this time.

    I never was bothered by buying tampons and pads, per se, but I do get a little weirded out that people then know that I AM BLEEDING RIGHT NOW! That feels a little ooky, to me. But, I’m otherwise a proud bleeder (though thankful for the lack of bleeding dring the childbearing year(s)!

  5. thordora August 3, 2007 at 1:31 pm #

    I don’t have a cup-after my ablation, I barely bleed enough (or with any regularity) to need it. I’m talking down from 2 ULTRA tampons plus pad to one pre teen tampon every 10 hours or so (TSS be damned!) and that’s only for a day or two.

    Talk to Karrie (www.karriew.wordpress.com) about hers. She LOVES it like I love French Mint Ice Cream. 🙂

    I will be introducing my girls to the cup when they’re older, and investing myself if my flow goes psychotic like it was before.

  6. jen August 3, 2007 at 2:08 pm #

    you know, i never felt ashamed. switching to the IUD since giving birth means no periods and while obviously convenient, i miss it somehow. i think i was more in tune during those few days. more primal.

  7. thordora August 3, 2007 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m glad someone didn’t! I never did, aside from that one incident. Otherwise, I was more of a head of “suck it. I bleed. Welcome to my ovaries.”

    🙂

  8. frisky August 3, 2007 at 3:23 pm #

    (For whatever reason, I rather enjoy talking about periods. It seems to bring a room of women together because everyone’s got a story.)

    It took me a long time to get over being ashamed of walking down That Aisle in the grocery store. When I was a kid, it was a taboo subject. Now that I’m a little older, I know better. I use my own homemade pads, but I really need to get a cup.

    I worked in a small store for a while where whenever one of the girls started their period, we all brought in a little chocolate to share with the group. It might not actually ease the pain of the cramps, but being able to bitch about them over chocolate isn’t a bad substitute!

  9. LGirl August 3, 2007 at 8:07 pm #

    I have never felt ashamed but despise my period and find nothing beautiful about this part of being a woman. It’s really rather inconvenient, I have reg. cycles, heavy flow but no cramping. Hate it hate it hate it.
    I could tell you my Clearwater beach shark attack story… I wasn’t attacked but came out of the water (carrying a 2yo 7 min from the restrooms) looking like I had been attacked. and where oh where do you hide a sandy tampon in your swimsuit!!

    Of course I’ll find a different spin on it for my gals!LOL!

  10. Ava January 12, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    I love being a woman and everything that comes with it. Even though i dont want kids i think its cool nature lets us “free” ous buildup every month and i personally think menopausal women are jealous of our youthfulness

  11. Stephnie Breitenberg July 15, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    I was browsing online for thoughts on a new article to write upon and saw your site. Although I may agree with your ideas a little bit, I think I will write something that is somewhat at the underside of your post. I like your thoughts though and will write something that is very near to it .

  12. Abbey November 20, 2010 at 2:29 am #

    I remember my first period i got while i was masterbating. but dw its a normal process, (:

  13. Gigi January 6, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    I got mine today. I also ruined my underwear, screeched at my brother for not getting me a fork at dinner, and got blood on my favorite white skirt. I hate being unprepared. This is all because my iPod broke too. My iPod touch had this app that tracked my period. I completely relied on that. It protected me from surprises more than a pad.

  14. Sammy July 27, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I got my period a few weeks ago and when I saw the blood I almost passed out! I had to lay on the bathroom floor. I then had to wear my moms giant diaper pads. Got LOTS of cramps. What a bad day lol! I am fine now. Tomorrow I am going to start my 2nd period. Wish me luck! 😛

Leave a Reply

